We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy fast Thai treat!”
Review of Chelsea Thai

Chelsea Thai
Ranked #3,646 of 13,763 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Oxford, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yummy fast Thai treat!”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

love everything on the menu! I've been here more than once. You should come early or after the lunch crowd. Seating was in the restaurant but always end up outside with the other people watchers and tourists.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank RovingFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    45
    15
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Best thai soup ever”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I tried the shrimp noodles soup. OMG It was soo delicious! If you like healthy and light calorie dishes, I highly recommend it! Even though you were full afterwards, you still had a very light feeling. And the herbs added so much flavour. Delicious!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sunflair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
515 reviews
353 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“average Thai”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Of course, since it is in the Chelsea Market, this establishment will be a bit on the pricy side. I split the peanut sauce with mixed veggies and tofu with a friend. The tofu was overcooked, but the noodles and vegetables were cooked to taste great. The portion size was huge - both of us left with full stomachs. Seating is scarce and the decor is sparse/practically nonexistent. On a positive note, they do sell several Thai ingredients that are difficult to find elsewhere in the city.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank waverider681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The West
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Boooooorrrrrring!”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

$10 a dish for things that taste the same. Both our dishes were the exact same taste. It may as well be Chinese food. Bland, boring, overpriced. The service isn't great and they don't even offer water without a charge. I took the leftovers and added my own spices to make it tolerable the next day. The entire Chelsea Market has started to look more like a tourist mall and less like a nice restaurant location of late. I recommend the area straight south of this for better dining.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadprisoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Loved the bean sheets, but not the room”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Great food, and a nice coconut sauce, but the room is too basic.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chelsea Thai also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Chelsea Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing