We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Modern

The Modern
Ranked #23 of 13,476 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $108 - $182
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 5th and 6th Avenues
Description: The Dining Room at The Modern is a Michelin-starred contemporary American restaurant at the Museum of Modern Art. Helmed by Executive Chef Abram Bissell, the restaurant features refined, playful dishes that highlight exceptional ingredients and seasonality in a $158 four-course prix fixe menu or a $208 eight-course tasting menu. Lunch offers a $118 three-course prix fixe menu or $158 six-course prix fixe menu. Complementing Chef Bissell's menus, Master Sommelier Michael Engelmann's extensive selection of wines showcases exceptional diversity and value in wines both classic and emerging regions. Our menu pricing is inclusive of all costs associated with food, beverage and hospitality. No tips are required nor expected. We accept reservations 28 days in advance. The restaurant also includes the vibrant and lively Bar Room (reservations encouraged), terrace for seasonal outdoor enjoyment, and bar & lounge area to welcome walk-ins.
Odense, Fyn, Denmark
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Fantastic food, great taste and great presented.
Interior also very stylish.
Not the last time I visited this place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lars B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,040
    325
    92
    29
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Amazingly great lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Went to the Modern with friends for lunch and was very impressed with everything.

I had the three course menu with starter, main and dessert and chose:

Peekytoe Crab
Pork Confit
Calvados Baba

The Peekytoe crab was amazing and probably one of the best starters I have ever had - great flavours and texture. Just perfect.

The Pork Confit was great and well prepared and the Baba was the perfect end to a great meal.

For drinks I had the Girovita and I would probably have had another couple of them if it wasn't a lunch.

Would happily go back again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sus2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great place for after-work drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

There's always a lively business crowd here after 5PM, and it gets a bit crowded after 6:30, but the bar area is great for catching up over a beer or whiskey. They have some small tables that seat 2-4 people in the bar area which you don't need a reservation for. The single-malt selection is extensive and service is fairly good; there are some good small appetizers (mini lobster rolls, shrimp skewers) that are somewhat expensive but go well with your drinks. Recommended if you work or are in for a business trip in the midtown area.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank wxs2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
77 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Oh, My”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

We celebrated our anniversary here with the Prix Fixe lunch and it is impossible to exaggerate in heaping praise on the Modern. Diners may choose either two courses and dessert or three courses and dessert. We chose the first option and left well sated. The chef was celebrating spring and all the tender fresh green things. The amuse boche was a lovely pea soup. I was surprised by goat butter - a first - and enjoyed it very much. My husband had a salad on polenta that he nearly swooned over. I had a wonderful, flavorful spaetzle. We both had filet for our second course and it was perfect, tender, served with sauces that complimented it wonderfully. The desserts were very creative, featuring fruits and fresh bright flavors. From our warm greeting to outstanding, friendly service by Derek and Jim we made to feel welcome and treated like royalty.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Toni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Don't bother - other much better choices in New York City”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

We ate at the Modern last weekend and were surprised at how disappointing it was. I got the Roast Chicken, which consisted of two small pieces of rubbery, bland, and very salty chicken. The serving of Brussel Sprouts that accompanied the chicken was so skimpy (about 8 pieces each the size of a peanut) that they did not register. My husband had the tagliatelle. It was fine, but very ordinary, and also a very small serving. There are so many great restaurants in New York City, with similar or better prices. Give The Modern a miss and enjoy a much better meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank XXNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Modern also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Modern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing