We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good dining experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Modern

The Modern
Ranked #20 of 13,548 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $108 - $182
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 5th and 6th Avenues
Description: The Dining Room at The Modern is a Michelin-starred contemporary American restaurant at the Museum of Modern Art. Helmed by Executive Chef Abram Bissell, the restaurant features refined, playful dishes that highlight exceptional ingredients and seasonality in a $158 four-course prix fixe menu or a $208 eight-course tasting menu. Lunch offers a $118 three-course prix fixe menu or $158 six-course prix fixe menu. Complementing Chef Bissell's menus, Master Sommelier Michael Engelmann's extensive selection of wines showcases exceptional diversity and value in wines both classic and emerging regions. Our menu pricing is inclusive of all costs associated with food, beverage and hospitality. No tips are required nor expected. We accept reservations 28 days in advance. The restaurant also includes the vibrant and lively Bar Room (reservations encouraged), terrace for seasonal outdoor enjoyment, and bar & lounge area to welcome walk-ins.
New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good dining experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Had the pleasure if dining at The Modern recently and enjoyed their 4 course menu. Excellent food and wine list was marred slightly by streaky service. To their credit, the wait staff recovered gracefully after the initial course took too long to arrive. They also have a notable wine list and a talented Sommelier. Worth a trip.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJJNYC34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,060
    329
    92
    30
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Energetic vibe with refined decor and dishes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The Modern offers a loud and lively atmosphere, but the dishes, decor and patrons are all more refined. The food is great. I am not a big scallop person but I ordered the scallops and I may now be converted to a scallop lover.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
135 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

We were very happy to have a delicious meal and excellent service. The restaurant was busy yet there was very little noise. I had the lobster gnocchi and it was superb.
I highly recommend this restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank 101travelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Complement to MoMA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stopping for a light lunch at the Museum of Modern Art gives energy to go back into the fray of trying to take in all of the exciting art works. We sat at the bar and enjoyed the atmosphere. I had the veal and goat cheese terrine, which was very good, but could have used a little more of the pea? puree to keep it from tasting too dry. My wife ate the sauerbraten. She grew up in Germany and had eaten this meal many times before. She said it was the best she had ever tasted and among the best meals she had ever eaten. Service was very friendly and attentive. We recommend this restaurant, whether you're stopping in just for lunch or enjoying the city's gem, the MoMA.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

A return visit after some years with high expectations which happily were met. After a short wait a good table by the window overlooking the sculpture garden, unfortunately poorly lit. The four course prix fixe menu with with up to eight choices per course at $108 dollars good for NY or any where considering the quality. Included are some little tasters on spoons, an amuse bouche and selection of good breads. All our choices, rabbit terrine, beet marinated Arctic char, rabbit truffle Alsation dumplings and the Sullivan county foi gras and roasted scallop were excellent with good flavours and fine presentation. Mains, a fondly remembered squab and foi gras croustillant is still on the menu after six years so I am not the only one to rate it and poached quail dish were again notable. Elegant desserts and an impressive chocolate and petit four trolley. Even the wine selection of a NY state Forge cellars Pinot Noir turned out to be a good guess, wine by the glass pricing makes a bottle the obvious way to go. Lots of staff makes you wonder what they all do but the results are fine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aFussy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Modern also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Modern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing