We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Modern

The Modern
Ranked #21 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $108 - $182
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 5th and 6th Avenues
Description: The Dining Room at The Modern is a Michelin-starred contemporary American restaurant at the Museum of Modern Art. Helmed by Executive Chef Abram Bissell, the restaurant features refined, playful dishes that highlight exceptional ingredients and seasonality in a $158 four-course prix fixe menu or a $208 eight-course tasting menu. Lunch offers a $118 three-course prix fixe menu or $158 six-course prix fixe menu. Complementing Chef Bissell's menus, Master Sommelier Michael Engelmann's extensive selection of wines showcases exceptional diversity and value in wines both classic and emerging regions. Our menu pricing is inclusive of all costs associated with food, beverage and hospitality. No tips are required nor expected. We accept reservations 28 days in advance. The restaurant also includes the vibrant and lively Bar Room (reservations encouraged), terrace for seasonal outdoor enjoyment, and bar & lounge area to welcome walk-ins.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
83 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We went to NYC for the weekend and made reservations at The Modern shortly after booking our travel. We chose the 4 course chef menu and were expecting a very good meal, but what we got was an outstanding meal. My husband chose lamb chops for the main entree and I had the chorizo crusted cod. We were pampered by the staff and noticed thay were also very attentive to the other tables near us. I absolutely would recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting NYC. Loved it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa_H687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,042
    325
    92
    29
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
177 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great NY Doubleheader - MOMA and The Modern”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

One of the great NY treats is viewing art at the MOMA and dining at The Modern. Thee of us went to see the Le Corbusier exhibit on a Sunday afternoon. We finished just about 3:00 and headed to the Modern Restaurant. Too late for the dining room we were led instead to a very comfortable table in the bar area amidst several other late lunchers. After a round of drinks we started with a salad, a bowl of gazpacho and a bowl of mushroom soup. The salad was nicely assembled but the mushroom soup was the best. A liverwurst sandwich served with very tasty mustard and a side of gherkins, an order of grilled shrimp and a veal terrine were ordered for our main. The veal was something you dream about, the sandwich very good and the shrimp dish delightful. A basket of beignets served with delicious coffee from Costa Rica finished the meal. Service throughout was first class we were never rushed.

Dining at a Danny Meyer restaurant assures you of a high quality experience. The bar at the MOMA provided that. The portions are smaller but the prices are justified by the value. You don't get a lot but what you get is great and you pay for the experience. Attending the galleries upstairs and taking a meal downstairs is a NY doubleheader.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DelrayJack07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
127 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Can't Get Much Better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

First time to eat here. Made reservations a little over a week before dinner for a Saturday night at 6:45. About half full when we arrived, but about 7:30pm the place was packed.
Went for the 4 Course Prix Fixe as the Tasting menu would have been too much.
Wore a open collar shirt, nice jeans and a blazer and did not feel out of place, did notice a few folks with jeans and a t-shirt. Pricing is about average for a place like this, good wine list however they need a few more selections "By The Glass".
Amount of food is just right, they not only bring you a starter, amuse bouche and a chocolate cart but a palate cleanser sorbet as well. 3 selections of bread with 2 types of butter, one being a great goats milk butter.
The thing that impressed me the most was the service, about the best all around service I have ever had in a higher end restaurant!!! Staff is just great!
Will definitely go back next time I am in NYC.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PTJD01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Tasty, convenient midtown option”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a business lunch at the Modern's bar room in August 2013, and overall came away impressed by the offering. The setting is a large, light-filled, albeit quite noisy room which was packed full at the time of our visit. The menu was extensive enough to provide a good range of choices without being overwhelming, and focused on fresh, seasonal ingredients. The kitchen executed very well, and each of us was very pleased with our respective orders. While the staff seemed very busy, they nonetheless remained attentive throughout the meal, and the courses were served at an appropriate pace for a weekday lunch. Overall, a very satisfying experience and (noise aside) a venue I would certainly recommend.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GDFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Outstanding in every aspect.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

What a fabulous evening. Every dish was a triumph in taste and texture and also visually. The staff were attentive and knowledgeable without being intrusive and enhanced our experience. This was a birthday present and the guest of honour was given a special cake to acknowledge the celebration - nice touch! The tables are well spaced to allow privacy and the decor is modern and classy. The view into the courtyard is very restful.
It will be on my 'must do' list when I am next in New York - can't wait.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelheaps15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Modern also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Modern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing