We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking!”
Review of The Modern

The Modern
Reserve with OpenTable
The Modern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $108 - $182
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 5th and 6th Avenues
Description: The Dining Room at The Modern is a Michelin-starred contemporary American restaurant at the Museum of Modern Art. Helmed by Executive Chef Abram Bissell, the restaurant features refined, playful dishes that highlight exceptional ingredients and seasonality in a $158 four-course prix fixe menu or a $208 eight-course tasting menu. Lunch offers a $118 three-course prix fixe menu or $158 six-course prix fixe menu. Complementing Chef Bissell's menus, Master Sommelier Michael Engelmann's extensive selection of wines showcases exceptional diversity and value in wines both classic and emerging regions. Our menu pricing is inclusive of all costs associated with food, beverage and hospitality. No tips are required nor expected. We accept reservations 28 days in advance. The restaurant also includes the vibrant and lively Bar Room (reservations encouraged), terrace for seasonal outdoor enjoyment, and bar & lounge area to welcome walk-ins.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
192 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Phenomenal food, impeccable service, views of MoMA's Sculpture Garden -- what more could you ask? Well, try the chef's flexible tasting menu, some of the caviar and desserts followed by the chocolate cart! It's a "Wow" experience anytime you go.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,096
    341
    96
    33
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Elegant and cool”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

When you have been shopping in the noisy city before lunch, take a break and sit down here for a while. It is the best relaxing and air conditioned place and close to everything.

The food is amazing! The wines are too! When I am in New York, I am always trying to squeeze in a visit to this restaurant at lunch time. Last time I had the best meal ever! Spätzle, tuna carpacchio and foie gras on top. As a starter I had the wild mushroom soup with fried dumplings filled with chorizo. A glass of sauvignon blanc with this. I was in heaven and I am thinking of this meal more often than I should.

I have been here alone, with family and with friends. I would not bring my youngest son (9 years) because I am unfortunately convinced that he would prefer another menu ...

If you like tasty food, if you are willing to pay a little bit more than you are doing at Applebee's - visit this place. But please - don't tell anyone else :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johanna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Noisy!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Dined on 3/23/2013












Food




.



Ambience




.



Service




.



Noise Level




Energetic.



If you want a quiet, elegant and romantic meal, this is not the place. The service was constantly interrupting conversation and, unfortunately, the sommelier was trying to explain the wine pairings but was drowned out from the very high decibel level in the dining room. The food was decent, but not excellent. I found the atmosphere to not be comfortable or relaxing. It seemed to me that they were training servers on the six of us as they seemed confused most of the time. There are better places for the money. Some of my favorites in this category for relaxing, world class food & traditional dining are Barbetta, Eleven Madison Park, Daniel, Per Se, Jean Georges, Le Bernardin & Gramercy Tavern.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A delight !!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I really had a great meal in this restaurant! The prices are really interesting and very nice staff!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Modern is a elegant, lovely restaurant. It is pricey, we paid around $200 for the prix fixe menu for two and drinks etc - although you only pick 4 courses, you get served around 10 and they even gave us three little cakes each to take away. The staff were attentive but not pushy and the food was exquisite. If you're looking for something similar but less pricey, the bar room they had at the front of the restaurant looked great.

Definitely would visit again - but only for a special occasion due to the price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Modern also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Modern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing