We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beer selection”

Zum Schneider Restaurant & Biergarten
Ranked #3,509 of 13,830 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: American, Austrian, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Neighborhood: East Village
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
470 reviews
340 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Great Beer selection”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Although it's not really a Biergarten in the traditional sense of a large outdoor space with communal tables, Zum Schneider has a fun atmosphere and an excellent selection of very fresh beers. We did not eat a full meal here, two of us just shared an order of O'Batzda, a soft cheese mixture, found in most restaurants in Bavarian. Good version of that. Will return sometime to try other food offerings. We were there at around 7:30PM on a Thursday night, so not so crazy or crowded.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trotpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    49
    12
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great beer!”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Funky wooden tables, lots of locals and amazing beer. Fun, noisy, crowded and full of happy folks. Did I say great beer?

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sander F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The very weissen wurst in NY”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

A real bavarian place in NYC, they serve a lot of authentic German variety of beer, as well as foods. Atmosphere is vibrant, like in Southern Germany at a Biergarten. Going back next time I'm in NY

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NataliaCostin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Spot!”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

This is a great little neighborhood spot. We stopped by on a Sunday evening. The weather was perfect so we sat outside. It was very busy, but our waitress took very good care of us. The outside area was a little tight, but that didn't bother us one bit as we had friendly people all around. The food was great, and of course, the beer was great as well. They have a few varieties of beer on tap from Kloster Andechs. That's all I needed to hear. We actually returned a few days later for a liter (or two) of their lager and doppelbock. Loved this place!

Helpful?
Thank OldShep75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Local”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

This is an unassuming watering hole in the East Village. You can sit out for a mug of beer, weather permitting. The food is ok and inexpensive.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sanjay0123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zum Schneider Restaurant & Biergarten also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Zum Schneider Restaurant & Biergarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing