We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The beer alone was worth the visit!”

Zum Schneider Restaurant & Biergarten
Ranked #3,300 of 13,639 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Bar, European, American, Austrian, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: East Village
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
349 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“The beer alone was worth the visit!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Very good standard Bavarian dishes accompanied by the best of German DRAUGHT BEERS!
Imagine Schneiderweiss on tap!

A way out in ABC City but worth the trip is you are looking for good German food in Manhattan.
Lively and informal, reasonably priced, the sausages were vey authentic.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Unbongout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    49
    12
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Authentic bavarian food”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I am Bavarian and since we don't have a lot of Bavarian restaurants in Montreal (and feeling a bit homesick) I was really excited to try this place. And I was not disappointed. It felt like eating out on a Sunday at a local Bavarian restaurant with my parents. I ordered the Schweinebraten and it was delicious! The gravy was excellent and well seasoned. Also, the salad that came with it tasted like in a German restaurant. I even told the waitress that the food tasted like my Mum's pork roast that she used to make on Sundays when I was little. The beer selection is great too. We had the Andechser when we were there. Even though the food is a bit expensive it's worth every penny! I will definitely come back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sonjam78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
118 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great beer selection”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Great potato pancakes. Excellent beer selection. Delicious pretzel. I was I town for the marathon, so I had to carb up and the pancakes were perfect. My friends had some sausages and the all looked delicious.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Interesting atmosphere, great authentic food”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I ate here a couple months ago. I remeber the food was great. I have the Weisswurst which was delicious. The best part about this place are the pretzels. They are so fresh. I'm not a beer drinker, but appartently the beer is great too. The atmosphere is a bit strange when you first go in during the cooler months. The place almost looks closed without all the outside summer seating set up. There are fake trees througout, and the tables are all made out of randow pieces of wood, and none of the chairs/benches match.

This place is worth trying, and going back too. Just don't walk past it mid-day thinking its closed. They probably aren't.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jlg454nyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“German beer & food”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This place feels a bit like a local neighborhood bar & restaurant, but German food & beer, & in Alphabet City instead of Germany. It's certainly not large or fancy. The food & beer selection is not huge & expansive. However, it has a comfortable, down to earth, relaxed atmosphere. Again, the food selection doesn't have a ton of variety, but it's tasty, hearty food. The beer is obviously heavily German & there's definitely some good options available. Price overall is not very cheap, but overall it is not a bad value considering the large filing portions & you are in expensive Manhattan. Service was excellent. The staff (including the non German ones) as well as many patrons spoke German when I went there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank quangvang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zum Schneider Restaurant & Biergarten also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Zum Schneider Restaurant & Biergarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing