We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heimattankstelle #1 / Griabig!!!”

Zum Schneider Restaurant & Biergarten
Ranked #3,509 of 13,830 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: American, Austrian, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Neighborhood: East Village
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Heimattankstelle #1 / Griabig!!!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

i try to go there when I can. This is not a michelin star restaurant, but it is honest, original, down to earth good food, well crafted, not "overkandiedelt"
Be adventurous and try the Schweinshaxe / pork shank, it saved you a trip to Bavaria/Munich right there! The dampfnudel is great, too.
Walk in and feel at home with Bavarian hospitality, good food and great beer selection.
if you (or her) are high maintenance stay away and let the others have fund and enjoy the place without the drama next table... :-)
My kids love it too. I could live there...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ExilBazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    49
    12
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice food”
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We went for Christmas ore-fixed dinner. The portions were generous and very tasty. The goose was good. Atmosphere was good too though it was slightly ruined by the fluorescent light from the store across the street. Service was good.

Helpful?
Thank ArtNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Weisswurst and more”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Biergarten and its young crowd make for loud but fun-making atmosphere. We go for the potato pancakes and weisswurst that are outstandingly delicious. The staff is helpful with suggestions to complement the anchor dishes we order. Note that payment is by cash.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bevchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good beer, very loud.”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We found this place by accident but were excited to stop in and have a beer. The first few minutes we had a nice guy sitting next to us at the bar. After he left the bar got filled with loud 20 something guys looking to get drunk in the middle of the afternoon. The staff was polite but cold. I was expecting more interaction between the bartender and the clients but he poured the beers and that was about it.

I would go back and try it one more time. Maybe it was an off day.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Authentic experience”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Visited the biergarten for the very end of Oktoberfest, which was great fun. Super lively bar, great service, and live music. Didn't try the food, but the pretzels and sausages looked delicious. Enjoyed the special festive beer, which was tasty (albeit expensive). As others have noted, it's cash only, so beware with your big $18 beer!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gkincaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zum Schneider Restaurant & Biergarten also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Zum Schneider Restaurant & Biergarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing