We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great spot for lunch”
Review of Loeb Boathouse

Loeb Boathouse
Book In Advance
More Info
$63.00*
and up
Horse Drawn Carriage Ride in Central Park
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Central Park Pedicab Tours for up to 3 People
More Info
$125.00*
and up
Central Park Horse and Carriage Ride with Professional Photographer
Hebron, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great spot for lunch”
Reviewed August 16, 2011

this is a really cute place to grab lunch after a nice afternoon in the park. be prepared to wait a bit. my husband and i went at about 2:30 in the afternoon and had to wait 35 minutes, but found seats at the bar which meant we didnt have to wait. good thing because we were starving. after walking around the city all day and through the park quite a bit, we were ready for a great lunch. this place is kind of expensive but totally worth the experience. we were eating an early dinner that night so we split something since it was about 3pm when we ate anyway. the bartenders seemed to be busy but still couldve been a bit more attentive, but i dont let things like that ruin my lunch or my experience. after we ate we walked to the right, outside of the restaraunt, and rented a rowboat for an hour. i was so glad we did this. it was such a fun time and so relaxing!! this is abut the only place in central park to eat, other than the street food stands. i would absolutely go back :)

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank lncooper529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    88
    25
    14
    25
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place, great salmon and crab cake but did not like the salad!!!”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Very nice ambience, beautiful views!!! For starter I've order the summer mixed greens salad so as 2 other people in our party. The salad tasted horrible. My husband ordered the crab cake and it was divine!!! For main entree, I've order the salmon which was delicious and my husband order the steak which was also really tender!!! We would definetly go back but not have the salad... :). Price for both of us with only one desert and we shared a bottle of wine between 6 people = $170.00 for the couple

Helpful?
1 Thank lumoreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Romantic Place for Dinner”
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We had a lovely romantic dinner with a view over the reflections in the lake. Expensive but worth it for the location and ambience. Would go again.

Helpful?
Thank Widnes_Lad_McP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Arrogant and rude bartenders, terrible service - don't go there”
Reviewed May 16, 2011

We wanted to have a romantic pre-lunch drink at the Boathouse after a stroll in Central Park. That was a terrible experience. We came in, got our seats, and after several minutes waiting at the bar desk, being completely neglected by the bartenders that were wandering around the bar, we finally had to "wave" our arms to get his attention - the distance had never been more than 2 meters between him and us for 15 minutes! We got our drinks, enjoyed, but the same happened when we wanted to order some more. After another 15 minutes feeling completely neglected, we got contact. We paid and left - and will never go back. The bartenders on duty May 14 2011 were the most arrogant and rude we ever have met.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Freiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Much nicer coffee than I expected...”
Reviewed March 13, 2011

On the first morning of our trip to NYC, we walked up to central park and decided to have brunch at the Boathouse. When we went inside, I wasn't really that impressed. It was self service but it looked like they were busy cleaning and the room with the view over the lake was closed. Since we were hungry and didn't know any other nearby places, we decided to stay. We had pancakes and coffee which was served in a paper cup and on paper plates. It didn't look particularly appetising but both actually tasted great! All I can say is looks can be deceiving.....

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank Joodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loeb Boathouse also viewed

 

Been to Loeb Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing