We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You got to come down & visit!”
Review of Long Beach

Long Beach
Ranked #173 of 1,111 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Whitehall, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“You got to come down & visit!”
Reviewed August 30, 2014

Fantastic beautiful boardwalk rebuilt from Hurricane Sandy. Great walking town! Also enjoyed cooling off in the Long Beach Public Library and browsing through the books and magazines. On the way, stopped by busy Starbucks for a mocha frappacino. Also enjoyed browsing at the farmer's market by City Hall. Loved the homemade pickles!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank J00Jee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    47
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great short hop from NYC”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

A great day on the beach with a LIRR package deal. For $22 you get a short 45-minute train ride to the beach, plenty of choices for lunch and a great day of swimming and sunning. !!!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeDana2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, New York
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach!”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Absolutely beautiful beach! Clear, clean water, and very clean beach. $12 per person to enter beach, my daughter who is 11 was free. They have umbrella rentals for $13 and chair rentals for $10 for the entire day. Boardwalk very nice and open to walk, bike, run. Bathroom facilities available. Small cafe on the beach. Parking was quite difficult. We ended up parking in a lot near the beach and when we left we were blocked in by other cars. According to the beach police and a tow truck driver, this occurs weekly. People behind us never came out, luckily after over an hour of waiting the people next to us and next to them pulled around the barrier we were parked behind and were able to get out, so then I was able to do the same. WATCH WHERE YOU PARK because this quickly ruined the day! Will definitely return to the beach again, but will park on the streets instead!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank kel4377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“It's back”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We have always enjoyed Long beach for its 'beach town'. we enjoy its small stores, nice beach, breezes from the Ocean & from the Bay and most of all walking & biking on its wide 2.x mile boardwalk.

We were happy to see this summer that all seems as was prior to Hurricane Sandy. We enjoyed a really smooth bike ride on the new bamboo boardwalk.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank EMK260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
922 reviews
258 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 939 helpful votes
“Quick Escape”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Long Beach is a relatively short ride from the center of NYC. The extensive boardwalk along the deep beach feels like you have gone away. Parking is easily found on the streets. Great for a day's excursion.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank jeremy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Long Beach also viewed

Long Beach, Long Island
 
Far Rockaway, Queens
 

Been to Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing