We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem in Chelsea!”

Rubin Museum of Art
Ranked #73 of 1,098 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Rubin Museum of Art is an arts oasis and cultural hub in New York City's vibrant Chelsea neighborhood that inspires visitors to make powerful connections between contemporary life and the art and ideas of the Himalayas, India, and neighboring regions. With a diverse array of thought-provoking exhibitions and programs-including films, concerts, and on-stage conversations-the Rubin provides immersive experiences that encourage personal discoveries and spark new ways of seeing the world. Emphasizing cross-cultural connections, the Rubin is a space to contemplate the big questions that extend across history and span human cultures.
Groton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
192 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“What a gem in Chelsea!”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

The Rubin Museum of Art, located @ 150 West 17th Street, was a lovely discovery. I arrived just before a free tour @ 1 pm and joined the small group. The tour was on the 6th floor and a presentation of Buddhas was given. The galleries offered Buddha history from several countries as well as The Art of Tibetan Medicine. I was disappointed the 2nd floor exhibit of Gateway to Himalayan Art and Tibetan Buddhist Shrine Room closed but will reopen July 2nd. Many pieces were on loan from The Brooklyn Museum. A real feast for the eyes were the objects ranging from statuaries, scrolls, wall hangings and blood letting instruments. Senior rate was $10. Café and small gift shop in the lobby. Pay attention to where photographs are not allowed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank carole c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    76
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Unique Museum in New York City”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Get away from the crowds and see something Different.

This is one of my Must See Museum's of the World! A true GEM in New York City!

Even if you don't have an interest in Himalayan Art you will get something very special out of the visit.

They have events too that are open to the public to attend too.
I went back and attended K2- a Friday night event.

Great for locals. The collection is curated very carefully and is stunning.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing Environment”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

This was a different take on a museum. My friend and I were visiting New York and doing everything "touristy" that we could. We enjoyed this little gem. There isn't much variety, but it is still work going. You can get a discount if you are a student at any school or college!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steffie_Tara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Beautiful space”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

NYC has everything, so the fact that it has a museum dedicated to Himalayan art shouldn't be a surprise. But for some reason I was surprised, albeit pleasantly, to learn about this as a student while taking a Tibetan Buddhism class in college. A Friday night visit was idyllic - they are open late, and it's free (!) on Friday evenings. Slowly wandering the galleries at night, and stepping out into the springtime air in the Village later is about as surreal as it gets. This may be one of the best located museums in Manhattan, and one of the most beautiful spaces. It also has a gorgeous tea shop on the bottom floor, and event spaces in the basement.

The space is absolutely beautiful, and the exhibits were pretty fascinating (a note - they will be more fascinating if you know some of the history of the religion / culture beforehand. A visit with my mom featured a comment to the effect of "I would love that on my mantlepiece", which is high praise, but maybe shows that the exhibits are a little esoteric (I felt the same way). After all, it is an art museum, so half the experience consists of wondering why something is notable (at least to us non-cultured 'brutes').

Still, for a non-major museum, it's a beautiful and veritable institution, and I'm sure fans of Asian art will find it fantastic.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TatooshRange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Never knew about this place before but it was close to where we were staying. Marvelous collection of Himalayan art on 6 floors. Well laid out and fascinating. Excellent cafe on the ground floor. Helpful staff. Highly recommend it!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank katiepenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rubin Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Rubin Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing