We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“magical”

New Amsterdam Theater
Book In Advance
More Info
$81.93*
and up
Disney's Aladdin on Broadway
Ranked #86 of 1,092 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The lavish decor of the Walt Disney theater is the perfect setting for the popular play production of The Lion King.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“magical”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Went to see Mary Poppins here and it was the best show both my wife and i have seen. around $80 for 2 tickets was great value

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank alex m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    127
    30
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Highly recommend!!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We took our extended family to see it at the New Amsterdam Theatre at 6:30 evening on a Sunday. It was simply awesome, flawless, and the set changes and transitions were seamless. Our whole family really enjoyed it, from ages 9 to age 70! It was beautiful, and fun, and I had a smile on my face most of the time! We were able to get half price tickets due to a January promotion and got really amazing seats (orchestra). From what I hear, the show is closing in March 2013. That's a shame. I highly recommend it if you are considering going. I wouldn't recommend bringing children under 5 - they are too young. There was a young child who was crying/making sounds the whole time, and disturbing the audience around them.

We all love Mary Poppins!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LavaJava96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A great renovation”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is a broadway theater where Disney does it's shows. It was totally renovated and restored to its vaudeville day glamor. It's a great site, and if a good show is playing, (like the Lion King-which moved to a bigger theater-is there....go see the show and go see the building. I don't there there are any visits to tour the theater.

Helpful?
Thank Ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
170 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Mary Poppins, Better than Expected!”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We went to see Mary Poppins, the musical and were pleasantly surprised. The theater is spectacular, and the show was very good. We got a great deal on Ticketmaster $140 for two orchestra tickets. We were seated on row M, seats 9 and 11 and had perfect view.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PoisonedIvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mary Poppins is magical!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I had a great seat in a fantastic theatre. It is just magical how the sets are changed. I loved the part where she flies. Must must see this play. Take time to absorb the decor of the theatre, too. I had orchestra seats. I was almost in the play.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gladyspg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Amsterdam Theater also viewed

 

Been to New Amsterdam Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing