We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some good”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Stand-Up New York

Stand-Up New York
Grand Prairie, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Some good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Went to the Friday night show @ 9 PM. 5 comedian line up. 2 were good, 2 were mediocre and 1 was terrible. The MC was probably the best of the bunch. Drinks are expensive as you would expect with a 2 drink minimum. But, overall, with a $20 ticket price, could have been a great experience. Not sure if it was just an "off-night" because all of the reviews looked good, but not one of the better shows i have seen. Would probably try another place next time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    66
    31
    31
    59
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great comedy, be careful about price though.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

I thought the comedy was great. Not a bunch of amateurs.

Can usually get the tickets cheaper than the $20 you pay in Times Square for them. Bought a ticket for $20 (although i was given one free as well) then later approached by another seller with the same tickets who was offering them free (just wanted a small tip for himself). Was told of the 2 drink minimum so didn't have a problem with that.

Got a bit late as I was in midtown and had to go to the upper west side. Bit of a walk from nearest subway. Would probably benefit from being in a more central location.

Comedy though was top notch, just be wary that you can get a better deal by giving a tip instead of paying the full $20, as this works out $40 in the end. But the guys on the street need to make a living, so didn't mind paying for it, and he was straight up with me about the 2 drink minimum.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank rudowm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Truly unprofessional and dishonest!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were also hooked by Dan on the street outside of Rockefeller Center. We were happy to be visiting NY from Canada and looking forward to taking in all that NY has to offer. Dan pretty much promised a good line up, including Caroline Rhea. It was all lies, the comedians were mediocre at best, and of course Caroline Rhea did not show.

The whole package, even though the tickets were only $20 each, cost well over $100 before the evening was over. Way too much money for a lousy evening.

Stay away from Stand-Up Comedy New York because they are truly not funny.

Truly unprofessional and dishonest!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comedians ok, but way too expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Me and my wife bought tickets on street that cost us 20$. At the place there was a very small bar where we bought drinks. Then when the show started we went in the showroom and we were told that we have to buy drinks at least 20$ per person. At the same time they rised the prices so that every drink cost 12-14$ and a small bottle of beer was 9$. Normal prices before the show were much less. Comedians were ok, but for a couple of drinks and laughs, the bill was much over hundred dollars, and that is just way too much. Cannot be recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank pezip
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“SCAM SCAM SCAM!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

BE CAREFUL!! Some friends and I were walking by the Rockefeller Centre when we were told of what a special night it would be at Standup NY with some very big names coming. We were guaranteed Chris Rock, Caroline Rhea, and Louis C.K. would be there. We were given a steal of $10 each because we were all students and told we'd have some free shots. Dan (big white guy, very friendly) also told us about the 2 drink minimum but after telling him we didn't all drink alcohol he assured us we could buy tea.
When we got to the club we were told we all had to spend $20 on drinks, there was no tea and no food to order despite watching other people have food brought to them. NOBODY WE WERE TOLD WAS COMING DID. I came for Louis C.K and am so disappointed he wasn't there. The waitress tried to charge us $10 for a bottle of water! I refused to pay that and the waitress was VERY rude but took it off the bill. I didn't want to tip her the 18% service charge and regret not fighting that. We talked to the assistant night manager Becky because my friend is a writer for a newspaper and they shirked all responsibility for the lies the people on the street were telling. They were only trying to cover their butts. After reading all of the other reviews here I realize they've been trapping tourists for a loooooong time and know all about it.
What kind of establishment would want their reputation to be one of lies, cheating and deceit? Don't they know comedians aren't going to want to be associated with that kind of comedy club? Get it together Standup NY! Or else you aren't going to last very long.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stand-Up New York also viewed

 

Been to Stand-Up New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing