We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“my favorite night spot for Tuesday evening!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smoke

Smoke
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“my favorite night spot for Tuesday evening!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

A very cosy, Jazzy well managed Jazz Club! On Every Tuesday live performances by Mike Ledonne ( very good organ player) and Eric Alexander ( one of the best saxophone players of his generation)........a must for Jazz "affectionados"

Highly recommended!!

Roeland Biever

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank roeland b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    24
    7
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“wonderful jazz club with hearty cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

What happens when you combine some very good live jazz with a fully enjoyable dinner? some are annoyed if they cannot fully concentrate on one of the two. For me it's heaven. Mike LeDonne Quartet is fantastic, and what I've ordered, the dark & stormy slow braised beef ribs really gives the idea of food cooked with love. comforting. excellent. The service was perfect, our supersmiling waiter managed to provide very good service without interfering with the music.
the bill was very reasonable for the experience they offer. strongly recommended.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank larixP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Cozy jazz venue!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I went here with my parents on a trip to NYC just because we wanted something different to do. None of us are huge jazz enthusiasts, but we had a great time!! The club is very intimate (seats about 50) so you need reservations. We didn't eat so I can't speak to the food, but the atmosphere is great and so was the music!! Don't hesitate to go to Smoke!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank natter1327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place for music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We happened upon this while we went for a walk in search of food. The entertainment was excellent. Great atmosphere for dinner. The people who were next to us were very friendly. We were a bit disappointed because we were asked to leave when the next set came on and we were done eating and didn't want to order drinks. The manager did come outside after we left and said that if they weren't full and people waiting then we could have stayed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaGirl14cc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Welcome to Jazz Club! Nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Smoke was recommended to us by a local and we were not disappointed. We were staying at the Marrakech Hotel so this club was extremely close by. Going Mon-Wed doesn't require a cover charge although they did ask for a minimum spend of $20 whether we sit at a table or the bar.
Overall a great night out and would recommend this to anyone looking for jazz in the area.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank nottkylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smoke also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Smoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing