We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good jazz” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smoke

Smoke
New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good jazz”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

The music is always going to be very good here, albeit very safe and straight-ahead, rarely challenging. This makes it a good spot for tourists who want to visit a jazz club when in NYC. Given that, and also that this is sort of the only club in the neighborhood, the way they treat patrons is maybe a little below average. The food is average for NYC jazz clubs, the food prices are average for NYC jazz clubs, and the cover charges are average/appropriate. They are the Jazz Club With the Most Rules of any club in town: Reservations must be made twice (made and then confirmed), no shared plates allowed, no separate checks, only one credit card per check, dinner must be eaten at the first set, tips are added for parties of five or more (and the tip is 20%, and on the food, tax, AND cover, when it should be only on food & beverage). But if you know this going in, you'll enjoy what is on most nights some of New York's finest local talent. Smoke has one of the best "quiet" policies of all the clubs in NY; another rule, I guess, but a very important one if you wish to hear the music. Also know that this club is not in Harlem, though their website suggests it might be...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LMNOQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    24
    7
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Croton on Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great NYC Supper Club”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

We went here for our second wedding Anniversary this weekend. This is a Jazz supper club for people who really like Jazz. The music was Fantastic and both my wife and I enjoyed our meals. The menu is BBQ, I had the ribs and my Wife had the Fried Chicken we enjoyed both, much better than the typical Supper Club Fare. The place is very small and if you don't like Jazz this place is not for you. I also don't think this is a place for young Children. The rest of the people there were really into Jazz too which made it a great experience. They do not tolerate talking and cell phones during the live music, and I am glad they don't. I should mention that on Saturday nights the cover for the music was in addition to the cost of the food, on our night there the cover was $35 per head. I am not complaining, its just that the website does not do a good job of conveying this and you could be in for a shock when you arrive. A seating consists of 1 hour of eating and 1 hour of solid Jazz. Sun through Thursday there is no cover for the music and there is a pre-fix menu which I think makes an evening of good food and great Jazz a steal.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mtram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
126 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Unexpected find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

We had a great night here. Food was very good, and the music was great. The cafe holds about 25 people so the tables are really close together. Dinner served first then music starts. Audience/diners were jazz-savvy - not talking during the music, applauding appropriate breaks, etc. Really good spot.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Aust_mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“As a Jazz venue the music was of a high standard. The food was very good as well.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

We found all aspects of the venue to be very good. The food quality was surprisingly good.
The music was very god as well. In all a good night out

Helpful?
Thank Keyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergerac, France
Level Contributor
775 reviews
180 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 418 helpful votes
“Good Jazz. Food so-so.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

Difficult to find good jazz and good food in NYC. This one has the first but the food is very average and not particularly good value. Choose your evenings carefully as jazz can vary considerably in style from ultra modern to more traditional. Packed, not a lot of space; red velvet in abundance... Some evenings/days/events there is a $30 cover charge; sometimes there's a meal included. - Depends on the above. Nice venue and entertaining if not expensive, night out.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank AJCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smoke also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Smoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing