We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wheeeee!”

Roosevelt Island Aerial Tram
Ranked #45 of 1,092 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Alberta
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wheeeee!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I recently (finally) visited the tram and absolutely loved it. While you may find yourself riding over with other tourists, many people will also actually live on Roosevelt Island, so it's a nice mix of locals and out of towners using the service.

As many people have mentioned, you can get in using your Metro card (as a tourist, please please just buy the week long Metro card for $30 - it's entirely worth it) and you don't have to worry about transfers.

Roosevelt Island wasn't extremely thrilling (we took the little bus around) but if you must satisfy your curiosity, for 25cents you can hop on the bus and do the loop and see for yourself. (I may have missed some of it too)

On the way back, assuming there aren't a bunch of people that need to sit down, scoot your way to the front of the car facing Manhattan and if you're inclined to take photos, brace yourself with one hand and snap away with the other. It's a bit scary being suspended over everything at times, which is part of why I loved it. The tram does wobble a bit, so unless you have incredible balance you will want to hold on to something.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bohemian_duck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,709 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,540
    923
    224
    20
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Unusual and a must do”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Crossing the river using either a tunnel or a bridge, by car, bus, metro, bike or simply by walking, seems to be the many ways to travel outside of Manathan.... But using an aerial tram like you do when skiing....it is just amazing.....
Just do it for the fun and enjoy the panorama!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank yf7003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
1,681 reviews
527 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 678 helpful votes
“A must do when in NYC”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Take the Subway over to the island, walk around for a few hours, visit Roosevelt park, then hop on the Tram to return to Midtown. If you do it within 2 hours, its a free transfer. Great way to see the East River Skyline. LESS traffic coming back to the city than going, FYI.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lucycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
397 reviews
161 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Great views above the East River”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

For a very small charge you can ride in a Tram Car above the East River and visit Roosevelt Island. The Tram Cars and clean and with plenty of glass all around lots of views of the East River and Skyline. Great value and a must if you visit New York

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank walshy1160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Level Contributor
200 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“What a view!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The tram ride was awesome with spectacular scenery as you travel over the East River. The tram goes over the Queensboro Bridge but you’ll have a view of the other three bridges plus Manhattan on one side and Queens on the other.
It’s the only commuter cable car in the world. The travel time is about five minutes.
I used my 7-day metro card to pay for the ride.
You catch the tram on 59th and 2nd Ave to get you to Roosevelt Island. The F train also gets you to and from the island if you don’t want to use the tram. Since we were staying in Queens, the F train took us back to home base.
I'm so glad I did this. My friend loved it too and said she never knew about this. I found out by chance while researching my trip to NYC on the Internet.
I'd love to go again and next time hope to use the tram at night to see NYC all lit up from about 250 feet above.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerKitchener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roosevelt Island Aerial Tram also viewed

 

Been to Roosevelt Island Aerial Tram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing