We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love New York!”

New York Philharmonic
Attraction details
NJ
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I love New York!”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

On November 27th, we saw the New York Philharmonic play Dvorak's Symphony from the New World, Shastakovich's Violin Concerto No. 1 and a Mendelssohn overture. The conductor, Andrey Boreyko, was excellent as was Frank Zimmermann, the violinist. It was a fabulous evening and I would highly recommend seeing the New York Philharmonic at Avery Fisher Hall..

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank RelentlessRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    17
    1
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
MidWest
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Beautiful acoustics”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Loved the concert at Avery Fisher Hall.. great acoustics and very involved audience.
TIPS:
* don't try to catch a cab after the concert right outside, go across the street and up or down.. otherwise you could be waiting forever especially when the weather is bad
* if you got tickets online, get there at least 15 min early - the Will Call line is huge

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank OlgasTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
162 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Everyone Should Attend a Concert Once”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Last night we attended the sold out performance of the New York Philharmonic playing Dvorak's Symphony from the New World, Shastakovich's Violin Concerto No. 1 and a Mendelssohn overture. The combination of the world class acoustics at Avery Fisher Hall with the world class playing of the symphony will leave one with the feeling, "Now I get it. This is worth coming to NYC to hear. This is what live music can do to someone." The third movement of the Shastakovich and the second movement of the Dvorak (in particular) contain music that will take you places you've never been before, and the conductor and musicians last night took us on a grand journey. Tremendous fun. It is something everyone should do at least once.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank southerntravelerms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
236 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Skill and Energy”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The NY Phil is the best known of many orchestras in NYC. I am a subscriber there for the 3rd time this year, and have visited many times. The musicanship of the NY Phil is excellent, even legendary, and their shows go from being relaxed and refined to bombastic. Conductor Alan Gilbert is so impressive when he leaps to the podium w/ no announcement, no sheet music, just skill and youthful energy. I would say it's the best orchestra in the world, although I have almost never bothered to go anywhere else.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“This is a "MUST DO BEFORE I DIE" experience.”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I enjoy classical music but I do not listen to it very often. My knowledge of it is limited. Nevertheless, the experience of sitting in Avery Fisher Hall hearing the NY Philharmonic is one I will never forget.

During a Friday mid-afternoon concert, you are surrounded by NY's "society" for whom such a concert appears to be an almost common experience. After a few minutes of "warm up", silence prevails and then your ears hear the most beautiful sound with such precision timing and attention to every note that you are overwhelmed by it all. You span the stage and see the orchestra made up of every cultural background and age group one can imagine. The entire experience from start to finish (including the beauty of Avery Fisher Hall and its shape) is mind-blowing. I am confident before the concert ends, you will say to yourself (as did I)...."wow...it is Friday afternoon and I am sitting here listening to the New York Philharmonic!!!!!! Life does not get much better than this!" Do not miss it. Regardless of your taste in music or your interests. This is a part of New York you need to see, hear, and experience.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonja T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New York Philharmonic also viewed

 

Been to New York Philharmonic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing