We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”

Morrell Wine Bar & Cafe
Ranked #113 of 868 Nightlife in New York City
Attraction details
Fort Worth, TX
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

My second visit here - outstanding! Very sharp service coupled with healthy and affordable choices, all with a view of Rockefeller ice rink. Tip: try the pulled pork taco starter.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    15
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dania Beach, FL
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Unexpected food”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Last time I stayed in New York my colleagues and I went to Wine Bar. We were a big group so they reserved the two tables on the higher level which was more private than the main dining area. I ordered the parpadelle with pork. I found that it was a different combination than what I am used to. After the meal we all shared cheese and fruit. I am a big fan of cheese and I have to say that their selection was fantastic. This was a company-sponsored dinner so I cannot say how expensive or not the dinner was. If you are in the mood to try different combinations, it will be a definite stop.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TrudieA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“They know their stuff”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stopped here with a friend who is well versed in wine selection. Our waiter impressed her with his knowledge. Enjoyed a selection of Pinots. The small plates are also good. We had only the olives and cheese but neighboring tables (the tables are very close) had tacos and crostini which looked delicious.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank turkmurphy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

What a fantastic wine bar. We spent a short while here sampling the delights of this fantastic wine bar after visiting 'Top of the Rock'. We expected that given the location it would be very expensive, but we were mistaken. They have a 'happy hour' type promotion from 3pm-5pm. $6 for a ice cold glass of Prosecco. The Argentinian Malbec was also excellent.

The small plates looked fantastic and the service was excellent. Very well mannered and attentive. Will definately be back!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruggedadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great wine and small plates”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This place is convenient to 5th Ave shoppers (me) and cozy and friendly. Great wine selection, nice nosh. Often I find other out of towners who love NYC and are visiting and we compare notes. I am an ex-New Yorker, I love wine, and I dig the winter sales at Saks Fifth Avenue. After shopping (and guilt) I appease my guilt with a few glasses of vino, a little nosh and a love letter to NYC via Rockefeller Center. You will not be disappointed. Plus, you can buy the wine in the adjacent wine store. Thanks Morrell!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank cogster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morrell Wine Bar & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Morrell Wine Bar & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing