We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dance Venue”
Review of Joyce Theater

Joyce Theater
Ranked #247 of 1,093 things to do in New York City
Attraction details
New England
Level Contributor
170 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great Dance Venue”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Joyce is THE place in NYC to see a world-class dance performance. The box office staff was a bit crisp hence the very good rating. Avoid side seats or front row. Ask for central seating.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Woopiedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    14
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
467 reviews
188 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Excellent Dance here”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I came across this theater when looking for things for me and my husband to do during our trip to NYC. I saw that some interesting dance was scheduled while we were there. The performance was by a contemporary company called Pilobolus. It's difficult to describe the dance, they move around each other, lift each other, use objects in their dance, film too. Amazing work, go see them.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank big-blue-eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Number One Performance Attraction of NYC”
Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

The performances in this theater are simply mind blowing. There's a lot of contemporary ballet, which uses the techniques of classical and neoclassical in a totally new way. The result makes for simply the best art performance in the city.

Go here before you see a broadway play. Before going to the Philarmonic. This will make for a night that will stay with you forever.

Helpful?
1 Thank No t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Strange and fascinating”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We saw contemporary dance at the Joyce, the First touch. Everyting was in slow motion and sooo strange and avant garde. But we all loved it and this will be a hangout everytime we go back to the big apple. Recomended for anyone who's in the mood for something new!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vronge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
173 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Never a bad seat in the House”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

I went to see a classical Indian dance company, Nritiyagram, and had a perfect seat in the balance on the second floor. The performance was on par with any other performance I have seen here from the Limon or Graham companies to a modern dance company from Puerto Rico . Always a high quality and inspiring experience for New Yorkers and people who want a real New York experience in a great neighborhood with the bonus Chelsea restaurants and people scene.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BuckeyeChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joyce Theater also viewed

 

Been to Joyce Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing