We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such bad comedy.”
Review of Gotham Comedy Club

Gotham Comedy Club
Ranked #12 of 147 Fun & Games in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Leading comedy club and host to top talent.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Such bad comedy.”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We went to Gotham on a Wednesday night, it was some mix-tape show. An obnoxious DJ scratched records and solicited applause. Then the 'comedy' began. For a reason that was never explained, the performers were not allowed to swear. When one accidentally did, the DJ played a very loud annoying sound effect. A comedian called Gary Gulman was particularly bad, and turned on the crowd when his jokes bombed. Awkward silence. Then the MC said "don't you hate it when you've just taken a shower then you need to take a doo-doo?" I got up and left at "doo-doo" because I'm not an 8 year old child. The end.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank HansGruber2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    73
    9
    7
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
172 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Mixed but pleasant evening”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Pros: Brings in famous acts. Smaller acts can still be very funny. Great environment. 2 drink minimum with online ticket purchases. Asked us where to be seated based on whether or not we wanted to be interacted with during the performance.

Cons: Drinks prices are all above 10 dollars. Some of the lesser known people are not really funny (but that's everywhere).

Summary: This is one of the better comedy clubs available. Definitely recommend checking it out.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank g-raterr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
109 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“fun comedy evening”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Inexpensive (tickets) central comedy club in Manhattan. Quite fun evening, good quality comics, expensive drinks - but what do you expect, I guess .. : ) A bit packed, but I felt that it kept the prices down perhaps. Stage easily seen from every table.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great evening!!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I saw the Mixtape Comedy Show on a Sunday evening and had a wonderful time. Music was good, comics were very funny, and it was very reasonably priced. It was cozy but not crowded; service was good; and we left laughing. We would likely have gone back another evening if we had more time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank short_stack101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushville NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun night out!!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I wasn't sure about the 2 drink minimum requirement since I don't drink alcohol but this included sodas and they were reasonably priced so it was a big deal. The table are a bit small and may be uncomfortable if you are a larger person but it is definitely worth a visit if you like stand up comedy!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank crisc09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gotham Comedy Club also viewed

 

Been to Gotham Comedy Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing