We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't go in there”
Review of Gotham Comedy Club

Gotham Comedy Club
Ranked #13 of 147 Fun & Games in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Leading comedy club and host to top talent.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“don't go in there”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I'm extremely confused by the rave reviews of this place. I've been here twice--years ago and months ago. THEY BOOK HORRIBLE ACTS.

I saw... I can't remember his name(it was February 9). As during my first visit, the headliner was totally clouded by the opening act. His opening act or two were funny guys who got me in the mood for laughs. The host was also great.

The headliner: seemed to be on drugs--not crack or heroin... maybe pills(violins), which made him the opposite of Richard Pryor. Mid-act, I started analyzing any potential hosts'/managers' faces for disappointment or rage... nothing.

Others in the room were in denial, like a father who insists that his teenage daughter who's been on Maury twice is a good girl, lol. I heard constant forced laughs, but the mood in the room wasn't reclined and jovial, but intellectual... I think people were intrigued by the headliner's (perhaps avant garde) approach. Nah, just confused.

It was the loopiest, lamest comedy set ever. I walked by the idiot when leaving and gave him a get-a-job frown, lol, then hurried out rather than imbibe more lameness. I then youtubed a few of their acts. 3/3 comedians seemed equally awful. Nothing is more annoying than buyer's remorse.

I live in Vegas and I've seen better comedy shows for $10, but I never lie about quality.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jjaylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    74
    9
    7
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Let the Funny Begin”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went to a 10pm Saturday night show, bought the tickets on-line ahead of time. All three comics were funny, two were very, very funny, and had us in tears at times. Some interaction between the comics and the crowd, but not in a nasty way at all which was nice. Everyone was having a good time in the club for sure. The MC was OK, but my wife thought she was very funny also. Very nice staff, efficient method of assigning tables early. Doors opened at 9:30 and we were assigned a table in the front (they actually asked if wanted to sit close or farther back), went downstairs to the bar areas for a drink until management said we could make our way up. Very relaxed atmosphere. We have been to Caroline's, Dangerfield's, etc., and Gotham is right up there, exceeding Dangerfield's actually. We will definitely see a show there again!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Gunzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Funny. Would be funnier if it wasn't being broadcast live on TV though.”
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

The comedy was great. Every act hilarious it was being shown live on Comedy Central - and that was more important to the comperes and comedians than whether or not the audience members were genuinely having a good night. Thr funniest guy was the last act, which wasnt filmed for TV and the guy diing the filling (audience fluffer...?!) was very good.

The table service was excellent. Food looked passable. The Pomegranate Martini was one to miss - very fake tasting.

Overall, if you want a quality comedy night, come here. But try to go on a night which isn't being broadcast live on TV.

Helpful?
2 Thank GeraintLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia suburb
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good time!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Fairly small and intimate, very good show. They also serve some sandwiches and appetizers, which were extremely good, hot and fresh.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Great show last night!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Went to see Amy Schumer who was great as was her opening act. Like most comedy clubs you are packed in like rats and the drink prices are sky high. That being said its decent venue and the show was very funny. We would Definetly return.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank travelnut2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gotham Comedy Club also viewed

 

Been to Gotham Comedy Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing