We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Italian option in a difficult part of the city”
Review of La Masseria

La Masseria
Reserve with OpenTable
La Masseria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #112 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between Broadway and 8th Avenue
Transit: N, R & W trains to 49th Street and E and 1 train to 50th Street.
Description: La Masseria Restaurant is inspired from ancient fortified farmhouses that in the Puglia Region of Italy are called “Masseria”. Executive Chef/Co-Owner, Pino Coladonato, grew up on a Farm in Puglia. He was forced to eat whatever was available but soon was tired of bean puree and decided to take matters into his own hands, creating new ways to use the same few ingredients. Now, with limitless ingredients to choose from, fava beans, chickpeas and lentils are still a core element in many of his entrees. Interior Designer Libby Langdon has created a warm, inviting dining atmosphere. Rustic and relaxed, with plenty of old world charm. Oversized iron sconces custom made from antique wrought iron gates punctuate the walls, and artful displays of antique farm tools mixed with various authentic Italian photographs all add to the farmhouse appeal. The 250-bottle wine list encompasses all regions of Italy with few of the best American and the rest of the world.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
414 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Fine Italian option in a difficult part of the city”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Finding a pre-theater restaurant that isn't too "touristy" was our objective. We met and exceeded our hopes with La Masseria. Service was great, reminded us of a recent trip to Rome and Sorrento. The food was very good. Salad and pasta entrees were beyond the ordinary options, great specials for the evening and good wines. The bonus was our show was only two doors away on 48th. Would definitely return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gosaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    882
    429
    111
    42
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Canaan, CT
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun, Fast and Flavorful”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I actually had a different restaurant in mind when I made this reservation and realized I had made a mistake when I arrived. I wish all of my mistakes were so wonderful! La Masseria was even better than the place I had in mind in the same neighborhood. Tables are close together but acoustics are good and we had no problem hearing each other during a pre-theater lunch. Service is prompt and professional. The food was outstanding. We had the asparagus with blue cheese over greens as an appetizer. Terrific. For lunch I had GLUTEN FREE penne with bolognese sauce. This restaurant works like a well oiled machine but isn't at all sterile. I'll be back! Do make a reservation. It was packed!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank powel6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“La Masseria”
Reviewed January 28, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

La Masseria, which means farmhouse, is an attractive Italian restaurant. The tables are crowded in and very close to each other which contributes to making it very noisy. The food is very good. Service is quick so that one easily gets out in time for the theater.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rgellert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience ”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We went to La Masseria upon recommendation of trip advisor reviews. It was excellent. A very busy and lively atmosphere. However, we never felt rushed . Our reservation was ready, the service was wonderful, and the food was outstanding! I had the stuffed pork loin. Others had the Sea bass, Bronzino, ravioli and pasta. Every dish was very, very good. Most of the portions were perfect. They are not huge but not small. I hate restaurants that have enormous portions and you either eat too much or throw half away. We did not have dessert. The only draw back is it was very loud . It may be quieter in another part of the restaurant it outside in the warmer weather. We will absolutely go again

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
931 reviews
579 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“Surprise stumble on a freezing day”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The Concierge at The Hideaways Club, 1600 Broadway recommended we walk to the Restaurants Street along 46 St. We must have walked halfway on W 48th from Broadway and were we glad to spot La Masseria!

A polar wind was blowing and we would not have survived the walk another few blocks.

AND the Great thing is that we are planning this summer a week in Puglia at The Hideaways Club property, Masseria La Rosa, so this find was God sent.

The restaurant is simple, well decorated and the staff extremely friendly and attentive.

We lucked out to a great lunch.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mypace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Masseria also viewed

 

Been to La Masseria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing