We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but almost too fast on the service”
Review of La Masseria

La Masseria
Reserve with OpenTable
La Masseria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #105 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between Broadway and 8th Avenue
Transit: N, R & W trains to 49th Street and E and 1 train to 50th Street.
Description: La Masseria Restaurant is inspired from ancient fortified farmhouses that in the Puglia Region of Italy are called “Masseria”. Executive Chef/Co-Owner, Pino Coladonato, grew up on a Farm in Puglia. He was forced to eat whatever was available but soon was tired of bean puree and decided to take matters into his own hands, creating new ways to use the same few ingredients. Now, with limitless ingredients to choose from, fava beans, chickpeas and lentils are still a core element in many of his entrees. Interior Designer Libby Langdon has created a warm, inviting dining atmosphere. Rustic and relaxed, with plenty of old world charm. Oversized iron sconces custom made from antique wrought iron gates punctuate the walls, and artful displays of antique farm tools mixed with various authentic Italian photographs all add to the farmhouse appeal. The 250-bottle wine list encompasses all regions of Italy with few of the best American and the rest of the world.
San Jose, CA
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good but almost too fast on the service”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Good Italian food, my Italian mother in law thought the gnochi was fantastic. The only down side is I think they're used to a theater crowd, they almost pulled our plates away before we were done eating. We actually came after the 8 pm show, but I think they're just used to moving people through quickly. I appreciate that, but sometimes they need to realize you want to slow down and actually savor your meal!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pj1290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    900
    440
    112
    42
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best anniversary dinner!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent our 10 year anniversary in NYC this weekend and I really wanted to have a great meal that wasn't overpriced.. I went on trip advisor and searched for weeks and finally found la masseria.. The reviews were great so I booked a table.. It was in the heart of Broadway and had a small but lively atmosphere. Even though we arrived early they sat us right away. We actually ate outside which was great.. The waiters were attentive and knowledgable. We ordered the fried calamari with scallops and shrimp.. Divine! Then my husband had a swordfish special which was amazing and I are the fettuccine with lobster.. It melted in my mouth.. We split the ricotta cheesecake which was heavenly... The bill wasn't bad at all for all we ate and drank.. We will be back!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good alternative in the area, not genuine”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Reading the review we decided the place was worth trying before a Broadway matinée show. Service was efficient and nice, the food came quick. We felt in between upmarket tourist and business.
We had linguine Vongole and pasta bolognese. The pasta were al dente as it should but the garlic in the 10 shells in my Vongole must have been in very small quantities. When the shells were gone, it was an enormous amount of pasta to eat without any real taste. A pity. The bolognese tasted good creamy lasagne actually. There too, huge portion and much better. But nothing to remember as a place we must come back. Pricey too compare to the lack of genuine taste.
Within 40 min the lunch was done and we did not feel about more.
The atmosphere was ok but we definitely did not feel in an Italian farm or so. An efficient Italian restaurant in the Theatre district.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NathiOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn Oregon USA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unexpected Gem”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in after seeing "Last Date". Noticed people dining outside and decided to try it. The food was great. We had amazing pasta with Grandma's Sunday Gravy. Chunks of tender beef and tiny meatballs with my pasta. Nice wine list, pleasant servers.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore MD
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian on Times Square? Yes!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Wow - who would ever think that right in the theater district and steps away from The Olive Garden you could feel so close to Italy? Minestrone soup was loaded with fresh colorful ingredients in a light broth. Pastas were perfectly al dente; sauces tasty and full of flavor. Wine by the glass selection was small but really all you need! If the atmosphere was "Italian Farmhouse" as advertised, it was a very high-end farmhouse!!

One warning - maybe because they are used to the theater crowd service was friendly but really fast. If you don't want to feel rushed, order one course at a time!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichardMadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Masseria also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to La Masseria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing