We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great meal out :)”

Tony's Di Napoli - Midtown
Reserve with OpenTable
Tony's Di Napoli - Midtown is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #91 of 13,763 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Broadway
Transit: 1,2,3,N,R,W,Q,D,S subway trains to Times Square
Description: Tony's has served up some of the best old NY Italian favorites. Our cooking comes from Southern Neapolitan traditions and served up in huge family style platters that serve 2 to 3 people.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great meal out :)”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Excellent food, great location - right beside times square, big portions for sharing :) service was really impressive, price very reasonable :) best Italian restaurant in nyc in my opinion :D

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ValRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,805 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,800
    1,485
    379
    93
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great family place to eat - good food and fair prices”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

This was a plesant surprise - good food and fair prices as the dishes are big enough to share. The restaurant is close to Times Square so we feared that we would enter a tourist trap but both the food and service was good. The restaurant is almost taken out of a movie from the fifties, you expect the Don to enter at any minute :-). I would visit any time again.

Helpful?
Thank MortenOlesen
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Iowa, United States
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Standout meal”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We visited this restaurant based on Trip Advisor recommendations and it turned out to be the best dinner we had in New York. We were lucky to go on Friday night when they serve Seafood Linguine - absolutely unbelievable. There was no skimping on the amount of lobster, shrimp, clams, mussels, calamari, and delicious fish mixed with handmade black linguine. The sauce was the best I've ever had. Our waiter was super friendly. We made reservations a few hours prior and the staff was very flexible when we showed up a bit early due to theater plans. Start to finish - a wonderful meal.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BethD_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“By far the best italian food in town”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Every time I go to NYC I must have dine at least 3 times in this restaurant.
Tricolore Torteloni with white sauce is wonderful. It's a dish that serves 3 people for around $50.
Meat ball are great as well! The bread they give you as much as you can before eating is marvelous.

Every person that works in this restaurant are happy, polite with foreigners.

It's very common people order a dish and not being able to eat it all because it's too much food. So, pay attention to it. Even a individual dish serves 2 people. The last time I was there I ordered a individual Chicken Parmegianna with Penne and it was fine for me and my wife.

Whatever you order, have a Sasyr wine with it. Very good wine for a reasonable price.

Just 10m from Times Square, it's a must go restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarceloFernandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Artichoke and giant shrimp...”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We visited this restaurant with our kids (3 and 9 months) so the 'family style' dining experience could have been troublesome (large platters meaning that a couple can really only choose 1 starter and 1 main - an agreement has to be come to!) - it wasn't!

The artichoke and giant shrimp starter is fantastic - the meatballs and pasts superb (the former so good that on a second visit a month later we couldn't be swayed to choose anything else).

A really fun, busy atmosphere with authentically cooked Italian fare in a lovely establishment that you could walk straight past and dismiss - don't, you'll be missing a treat.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony's Di Napoli - Midtown also viewed

 

Been to Tony's Di Napoli - Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing