We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and great food”

Tony's Di Napoli - Midtown
Reserve with OpenTable
Tony's Di Napoli - Midtown is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #84 of 13,548 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Broadway
Transit: 1,2,3,N,R,W,Q,D,S subway trains to Times Square
Description: Tony's has served up some of the best old NY Italian favorites. Our cooking comes from Southern Neapolitan traditions and served up in huge family style platters that serve 2 to 3 people.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Charming and great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Loved the atmosphere and the food was great. A little loud for easy conversation but once the food comes you don't want to talk anyway. Friendly service. Easy access to theatres.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patti R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,686
    1,420
    370
    87
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Carbon, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Went in for a solo dinner after arriving in NYC on business. Wait was 45 minutes, but found a place at the bar immediately. Lively bar and restaurant. Amy makes a phenomenal gin&tonic. Went with her recommendation-Caesar salad and chicken parm. Very good,but highlight was her recommended side of broccoli penne--fantastic! Seemed to be a lot of repeat customers--both locals and repeat tourists.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fabulous balls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

As a brit I shy away from meatballs at home. They're usually small dry and fairly bland. These were the size of tennis balls and came on a mountain of pasta

Me and my fiance loved our first meal together in new York. thank you


Also.... Very friendly staff!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank twistedpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
141 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Noisy!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We went pre-theater to this landmark restaurant. Big and noisy but full of energy. The food was good but our server disappeared at times even when the runner delivered the food on a tray to the side of our table. Other waiters actually had to be called to deliver the food on our table.

Ample portions that were tasty and able to be shared.

Pasta and shrimp were exceptional. Don't over order...We wanted Scapriello but were discouraged by the waiter because it "takes too long." Had to settle on another dish...

Why have it on the menu and try to convince patrons not to order it....

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drphil2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Classic Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

This restaurant is located right beside the Hotel Casablanca so we gave it a try. It was jumping! Seemed really traditional Italian with white table linens and fast efficient service. They serve sharing platters and are good at advising you not to order too much. Our meatballs were the size of tennis balls.
Waitress was wonderful, I felt like an extra from "The Sopranos".

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SheilaDonnachie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony's Di Napoli - Midtown also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Tony's Di Napoli - Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing