We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine Irish Fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Full Shilling

The Full Shilling
Reserve with OpenTable
The Full Shilling is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,132 of 13,554 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Financial District
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fine Irish Fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

While it seems that every pub and restaurant in the Financial District offers Irish fare, it is consistently well prepared at the Full Shilling. It was recommended to me by one of the Irish waitstaff network at another Pub (only), and I have never been disappointed.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank RdWarriorFromNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wallingford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Who would guess great steak in a bar?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Busy all day we wandered around the financial district reading window menus. Tired, thirsty decided to just go in for a beer. I had the very best filet for $25 I have ever eaten. Asked by the staff does everyone on Wall Street comes in here for the steak? No, it is too small at 8 oz. Eight delicious ounces was perfect. By the way the bar has a big selection of beers.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank JimM0ran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chi Town
Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent!~”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stumbled on this place, actually was looking for a different spot that had closed when we found this nice pub. The atmosphere was pretty quiet (on a Saturday night in the financial district), I'm sure it's bustling on Friday nights and during the week...the food was outstanding (a burger and fish and chips) and the Guinness was brilliant!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank sjmagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Ohio
Level Contributor
222 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Really Enjoyed this Establishment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

This nice relaxing pub just off Wall Street offers a good selection of beers and liquor, has good food, and a prompt, friendly staff. I would return anytime!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank NWOhioGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great little spot in the...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2008

Great little spot in the financial district. This cozy little pub serves good food, a variety of beers... however, the kitchen closes early and it starts to clear out somewhat early (welcome to the financial district!)

Helpful?
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Full Shilling also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Full Shilling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing