We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Poor Service”

Wolf & Lamb Steakhouse
Ranked #1,696 of 13,559 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $60
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: Located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, Wolf & Lamb Steakhouse, established nearly fifteen years ago, is just steps from the Diamond district, Rockefeller Center, Saks Fifth Avenue and the Waldorf Astoria Hotel. Wolf & Lamb is conveniently located for business meetings and corporate events as well as for romantic dinners or family celebrations. Business leaders, Celebrities, Political figures, and native New Yorkers have all come through our doors to experience our old world cuisine presented in a fresh, upscale and welcoming atmosphere. We at Wolf & Lamb pride ourselves with using the best glatt kosher meats. All of our high quality steaks are butchered on premises and hand selected for perfection. You will also enjoy our variety of delicious soups, salads, starters, chicken, pastas and fresh fish dishes. As we celebrate sixteen incredible years, we renew our commitment to excellence in Kosher dining.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good Food, Poor Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We were looking for a quick lunch while touring midtown, and this restaurant seemed inviting. The empanada appetizers were yummy, and my companion had the W&L Burger, and while I enjoyed the steak salad. We also had the chocolate mousse and bread pudding desserts. All of the food was okay. Our server may have been tired as we arrived after the lunch rush, however we never saw this person again between the time our appetizer arrived until she brought the check. Overall good food, but I had to ask for water glass to be filled more than three times before the end of the meal, and the place had only 2 other tables occupied, so felt neglected.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ilona06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    52
    8
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
363 reviews
332 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Not a deli - an upscale kosher restaurant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We ordered the stuffed chicken with sweet potato fries, a hamburger with mashed potatoes, salmon with baked potato and roasted chicken with sweet potato fries. Everyone agreed that the food was very delicious. I would recommend this restaurant to others.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Re27k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We ate here between Christmas and New Year. We really enjoyed our meal here. We didn't have reservations and we were found a table almost immediately. The service was nice and the waiter was very knowledgeable about the different types of steak. We only had one course but it was delicious. The restaurant was pretty busy and the atmosphere was lively.
We would definitely go back next time we visit NY. Nice central location. My husband recommends the malt beer!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
129 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice and Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We've been here a few times already. We've had a variety of foods from burgers and sandwiches to steaks and every time it's perfect. I am very particular about my steaks being "burnt" with no fat, but tasting good, and they actually discussed the possibilities and came up with something delicious. The ambience is really nice. The wait is long but worth it. If you need to wash to bread (jewish), they have silver foil wrapped pieces of bread to make a blessing on! First place I didn't just see a bunch of old bread pieces in a basket. A small thing, but it shows that they think of small things. This is Manhatten but there is outside parking in the evenings. The price is not small but reasonable. You can even get a coupon on Restaurants.com Overall this is a very good restaurant and I plan on returning. Maybe even tonite (our 41st wedding anniversary!). Enjoy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mutty_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food, Great atmosphere, slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

In search for a good kosher restaurant, we randomly walked into wolf & lamb. fortunetly, they had a table for two. The food was great (we went for burgers) and the portion of the dishes was large. It seemed to us that the crowd that attended the restaurant that day was not only jewish, and I'm pretty sure they enjoyed the food as well.

The atmosphere in the restaurant was very nice too. The service was pleasent, but it took quite some time to get our food - the same has happend to other diners around us. We didn't mind that, and possibly, this might be related to the fact the food is really being prepared, and is fresh, rather than being warmed up.

Overall- we really enjoyed it, and planning to come back again

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elad234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wolf & Lamb Steakhouse also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Wolf & Lamb Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing