We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian jem on East 53rd Street”
Review of La Gioconda

La Gioconda
Order Online
Ranked #759 of 16,721 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $23
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown East
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I’ve eaten at the restaurant three times and it is excellent serving “real” Italian cuisine! Their prosciutto de Parma and parmesan cheese appetizers tastes close to the the real thing! Their seafood dishes and beef Ragu are outstanding. And their selection of Italian wines by the glass are excellent.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Foodiva665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We were looking for good food, service, and value in mid-town, NYC - and found it:
La Gioconda !

Terrific Italian menu - plus specialties. Everything is well-prepared.

Service is friendly and welcoming - and in a small and nice setting.

And for NYC, the value is great.

Go here !

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank triptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2019 via mobile

Lovely atmosphere and great welcome from the staff. A southern Italian style and a great selections of daily specials.
Throughout the whole evening the staff were very attentive and on point on performance and politeness. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank alew141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2019 via mobile

This is a small restaurant with basic decor but ver good food.

We were greeted and seated by a friendly staff member who then ran through all of the night's specials. We arrived during happy hour which meant we got to choose a free tapas dish if we ordered two glasses of wine (which we did). We had bread with mozzarella and prosciutto which was very. This was in addition the the gratis bread and oil. Both of the wines - one red and one white - were good.

For mains my wife had a very tasty spaghetti carbonara (well cooked and not over-sauced) while my saltimbocca with spinach and potato was very nice.

I had a very good strudel for dessert while my wife had a top notch affogato.

All staff were very friendly and helpful.

Recommended.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank gfsc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2019

This local Italian restaurant seats about 30 people and is in a fairly small space on 53rd street. Decor is simple. There was a better than expected wine list but the two different glasses we chose were disappointing. Our salad was okay. My Paccheri alla Norma consisted of jumbo rigatoni with eggplant and tomato sauce was bland and the rigatoni was not quite cooked enough and was a bit chewy. My wife's pasta was similar. All told not impressive and we don't plan on returning.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Gioconda also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to La Gioconda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing