We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Music is excellent”
Review of Birdland

Birdland
Ranked #7 of 864 Nightlife in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Music is excellent”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

We opted for the early sitting on our last evening and it made for a very mellow last experience in NY. Food is ok, service was good and atmosphere was lovely, really respectful of the music.
Cover charge + food and drink came to @$190 for two.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    124
    29
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love Birdland”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Birdland is a wonderful venue for jazz lovers - excellent sound and site lines. Treated to a beautiful set from Bill Charlap Trio 3/27/14 late show. His presentation romantically mirrored the intimacy of the room allowing me, on my own, to share the event with the engaging warmth of the adjacent table. Service was appropriate and food looked excellent. Best - the mutual enjoyment at the next table. Worst - don't know how to find her.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank golfdisease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful Jazz”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

If your a true Jazz fan, then you have to go to Birdland. The music was OUTSTANDING. My only suggestion is to make reservations and to get in line early. The seats are first come first serve.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Ahill77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitecourt, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Jazz at its finest”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Enjoyed a double header on a Friday night. Firstly sat in the front row for the Birdland Big Band session and it actually felt like we were sitting in with the band. We would thoroughly recommend a visit just to experience the musicianship and feel the energy flowing out of this band.
The next session involved some jazzers that have been around for a very long time called Quest. Again, exceptional musicianship and a lesson in how jazz should be played.
Also enjoyed dinner which was well priced and well served.
We would recommend a visit to one of the Jazz World Heritage Sites.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank yodel_555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Incredible”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

You can feel the history when you walk in. It has the vibe of a super club of back in the day. Drinks on the pricey side but ambiance was wonderful (all little candles, white tablecloths) and the music...oh man! Sound is awesome. Its the place to go for a wonderful evening of music and ambiance and just kicking back and letting mellow set in.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeColo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birdland also viewed

 

Been to Birdland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing