We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chinese in Chinatown- not all that different.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun Sai Gai

Sun Sai Gai
Ranked #7,244 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
Level Contributor
637 reviews
368 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Chinese in Chinatown- not all that different.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

The fried rice and the chicken dishes were what one would typically expect. I did not care for the flavor of the wontons in the soup. On the positive side the servers were very welcoming, the food was very hot, and the portion sizes were large enough for two.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melaney68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    20
    20
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, Ohio
Level Contributor
84 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

While this was a busy place during the lunch hour, we know why. The roast duck soup was outstanding and very flavorful. Good portions, great value and fast service. The decor and atmosphere was less than average but we walked away satisfied.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank buckeye4331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Cantonese Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

If you are looking for authentic Cantonese food, here you go. They have the best roast duck and the bbq pork bun I've ever had. There are buns of other flavors and other pastries too, a big variety. Porridge is great as well. Not many choices for dim sum though. Would be a great place for lunch. The prices are affordable. The restaurant is quite small, always filled during meal time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank w w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“If you want to experience Chinatown, this is it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

This was our first experience with Chinatown and I had my reservations about eating there. My wife was put off by the full chickens and ducks hanging in the window, but my thought was "at least I know they're using real chicken and duck." The food turned out to be really good, and the portions were large. The chicken, surprisingly, was all white meat. The service is a little lacking and you're crammed into a hot space with a ton of others on top of you, but I felt like I got the real Chinatown experience. And no food poisoning, so that's a win in my book.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Crazy for thier duck”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Every time I am in the city, I have to stop by for the duck and green beans. If you are looking for fancy, go elsewhere. If you are looking for delicious food and great service, I highly recommend lunch or dinner here.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greg4surf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun Sai Gai also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Sun Sai Gai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing