We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly warm welcoming bar”

Rosie O'Grady's Pub
Ranked #8,198 of 13,743 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: TriBeCa
South East England
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Friendly warm welcoming bar”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have staying in New York many times. Each time we make a point of visiting Rosie's for a few Sam Adam's. the bar looks like something you would see on a typical US film / TV show, with stools all arp d the bar and waiter service and plenty of bar chat. The decor is classic, with a refurb some where between now and 2010 ( our last visit ), which was. Not needed but looks good. There is a large selection of bar snacks too as well as a separate restaurant which serve amazing steaks, really amazing. The bar is busy with tourists and at 1800 locals who have finished work and are sharing the evening with friends. There are also TV screens around the bar showing a range of sports and news channels. The atmosphere is friendly and war and I felt comfortable in there on my own whilst waiting for my husband after I indulged in some retail therapy. What more can I say, a great bar and so central. Love it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Gerbra_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    9
    10
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Nice bar”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

A cosmo is like $17 and may or may not be worth it---depending on the bartender. Usually packed after work and hard to find a seat. Atmosphere is light and fun with a touch of class. Some bartenders have too much attitude, but on the whole, nice place pre or post theater.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alish2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bar review”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Didn't eat here (although the food looked lovely) as we were just having a quick pre-theatre drink but the pub had a very warm friendly atmosphere and I was gutted it was our last night and that we didn't come across this pub sooner. Pint of Bud Light was about $7, average for Manhattan.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jammy_dodger86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce Township, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve”
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We bought tickets for the night and it was wonderful!! Got to bipass the crowds, had what felt like our own personal bartender, more cold and hot apprtizers then we could possibly eat! Only thing I would of changed was maybe upgrade the champagne they gave us at midnight no one in our group drank it other then for the toast! Great location if you do not want to stand out in the freezing cold! The manager was very hospitable! And we had what we felt was OU own personal sidewalk space to watch the ball drop! I was very impressed with the whole night and would go back again anytime!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank colleen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basehor, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Sign Out Front, Just Average Food”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We ate here after a show. The food is only average and it is pricey as you are just a few blocks from Times Square. I ordered the crab cakes and they tasted like something out of a heat n eat box. Skip Rosie O'Grady's Pub.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank WRM333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosie O'Grady's Pub also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Rosie O'Grady's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing