We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Irish pub that will...”
Review of Hurley's Saloon

Hurley's Saloon
Ranked #894 of 14,308 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: Hurley's is a classic restaurant & bar in New York's theater district with a rustic appeal for everyone to enjoy and a wonderful place to gather with friends for a great meal and drinks. They offer outstanding dinning and bar services at very affordable prices. Saloon features a restaurant and full-service bar on three levels, private booths, private rooms for parties of all sizes, as well as rooftop dining weather permitting.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

get in and out quickly if you are pressed for Broadway show nearby. Service was very fast and good. The food, on the other hand, was good but that was about it. I had the Hanger Steak au poivre and wife had Price Fixed Salmon. Started off with Lentil Vegetable soup which was just OK. The meal itself was hot but not outstanding in any manner. The desert was a warm apple pie which was mediocre at best. I don't believe I would venture back there with so many other choices available. Another feature was that it was not terribly expensive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lightning411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYCRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Hurley's Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thanks so much for your review and we apologize for your experience. We would love for you to come back and try our food again. Please send your contact information to anne@hurleysnyc.com to discuss further.

Warmly,
Hurley's Saloon Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

337 - 341 of 543 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stopped in here for a late lunch while staying in the city. The staff is friendly and the service is quick. The food was above average. The atmosphere is typical of a pub/restaurant. I'd return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jen91610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYCRestaurant, General Manager at Hurley's Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Thanks so much for your feedback! We would love to see you again soon.

Cheers,
Hurley's Saloon Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Drinks are expensive. Irish food just ok. Should have listend to the table next to us, burgers are wonderful. Never got bread at table. Loved the Christmas decorations. Desert menu very limited. Staff was friendly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank msnitro77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYCRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Hurley's Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thanks so much for your feedback and we hope this doesn't deter you from coming back again soon.

Cheers,
Hurley's Saloon Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I recently had a chance to eat at Hurley's while on a "Land Cruise". We had 56 in our party and the service, food, hospitality and atmosphere were by far top notch. This is by far one of the best meals I've had. I had the shrimp scampi which had loads of LARGE shrimp. I'm not sure of the price of the meal since it was part of our tour - but if I ever get back to NYC by myself, I will definitely eat here again.

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shampoo21208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYCRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Hurley's Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thanks so much for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed dining with us with your large tour group and hope you visit us again the next time you're in the Big Apple!

Cheers,
Hurley's Saloon Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

10 of us hit Hurley's before a show. 5:30 reservations. We found the restaurant well prepared to receive us, as seating was prompt. Table service was also prompt and attentive with our orders for beverages throughout the dinner. Dinner service was quick considering the variety and types of meals requested (chicken, veal, filet's, and pasta dishes). All were served at the same time. Meal reviews were generally well received, one slight disappointment on the veal was heard. My filet was excellent and cooked to perfection as ordered, very pleased. The staff was very accommodating and our seating area spacious for the amount of guests. Very pleased with the service and overall value (once bill arrived) for the service and meal was considered very good. We tipped quite well as a result. Only area for a "knock" is the restroom accommodations. General restrooms (no defined male/female) and upstairs the line was quite long at one point. Accommodations didn't appear to match need, even with checking out other levels. They had us out in perfect timing to cross the street for our show......which was hilarious. Overall, great time had by all, and it began with super service and treatment for what was our first visit to Hurley's. Definitely keeping in mind for our next "show trip" into NYC.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jeffery S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYCRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Hurley's Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thanks Jeffery!

We are pleased you had a great time and will think about the restroom issue you've brought up. Thanks again for choosing us before the show and we hope to see you soon!

Cheers,
Hurley's Saloon Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hurley's Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Hurley's Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing