We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent quality pub”

Parnell's Restaurant
Ranked #2,905 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, French, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Consistent quality pub”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Parnell's has reliably been good over the last 30 years. I know because I have been going there that long. The food is nicely done, and includes pistachio crusted cod with a buerre blanc sauce, liver bacon and onions, fish and chips (I substitute baked potato for the chips), and burgers. Servers are always young women with a range of ability from poor to great. If you can get Anna, you are lucky because she will notice if you raise your pinky in her direction.

There are two comfortable rooms with ample space between tables. One room has the bar with a mature crowd of professional drinkers. Tables fill the remainder of the room. The back room has all tables, some on a platformed area. The atmosphere is faux Tiffany lamped, low lights and a good sound level, unless they are hosting a table of 10. The drinks are perfectly made. The prices have risen to a level that is a bit uncomfortable, but still tolerable. If you are in midtown east, Parnell's should be your default restaurant. Reservations never necessary.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    26
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hillsdale, New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Standard Pub Grub”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Every neighborhood has a place like Parnells, and Parnell's is ours. Perfectly adequate bangers and mash or burgers.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChrisA861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great local Irish Pub & Restaurant”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have been here many times before for dinners, usually birthdays or holidays. The food is consistently great, and the service always very good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ASheinbrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“usually good, but REALLY disappointing tonight”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I live in the neighborhood and have been to Parnell's many times. Tonight when we went it wasnt even half full. We ordered 2 burgers medium rare. When they came the were well done to the point that the outside was crunchy. No waitress ever stopped by or did one even walk by us for a long time. i ate mine because i was so hungry, my wife cut hers in half and was able to take a bite or two from the middle, but it was pretty grey and inedible. When the waitress finally came over, we told her we ordered medium rare and she could see how well done they were. she asked if we wanted a new one, but we had already been sitting there with the food for half hour and it was 9pm and wanted to leave. Needless to say, she couldnt have cared less, nor did she offer to take it off the bill. Its a shame that a regular decent place in the neighborhood has gone down hill or worse, has servers that care so little for the patrons that pay for food that they couldn't eat. It will be a long time if ever that i go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank apf232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“More Than Just the "Ordinary"”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Saying "Irish Bar" in Midtown Manhattan is redundant. Most of the bars in that location Are Irish with the usual Bass and Guiness on tap--maybe Smithwick's. Parnell's at 53rd Street on First Avenue, however, is more than just the Irish brews and servers with a brogue. It offers excellent food at very reasonable prices. Its special-priced "Early Bird" dinner menu that runs from 5:30 -7PM on Monday-Thursday offers excellent value for money. It even comes with warm apple pie and vanilla ice cream as a dessert choice. The grilled salmon--always unmistakably fresh-- is always a winner. Those who like corned beef and cabbage can find it on the menu for St. Patrick's Day as well as a menu staple "out of season" on Thursdays. The corned beef is a slab of good meat, not a pile of shredded something-or-other passed off as the Irish favorite. Fish of other varieties and steak are also good choices here. The lovely eating area in the back offers quiet away from the sports bar in this popular neighborhood "local." In my experiences there, the food has always come promptly, served hot and from cheerful servers. I have taken out-of-town guests there and have recommended it to others. No one has yet to register a disappointment.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrMPA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parnell's Restaurant also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Parnell's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing