We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stinking barstaff attitude”

O'Hara's Restaurant and Pub
Ranked #145 of 13,639 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Financial District
Mumbles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Stinking barstaff attitude”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My wife and I popped in here after being to visit the 9/11 memorial staff to grab some hot drinks after being in the biting cold for several hours.

The barmaid had an absolutely stinking attitude which meant we downed our drinks as soon as we could and left. She was quite happy to let people who weren't customers use the toilets-I'm not sure the owners would appreciate that considering there are plenty of signs saying that the toilets were for customers only.

Easily the poorest service we've had in NYC. I could go on but there's no point really. Just avoid this place like the plague and you won't go wrong with the dozens of nearby establishments who will welcome your custom.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACD80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    286
    68
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lucknow, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly staff, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We found this place after leaving the WTC memorial. It was St. Patrick's Day and even though it was very busy we were seated and served quickly,
Great food, friendly people. Hope to come back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It was good!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stopped in after visiting the memorial and the beer was a good price..so hard to find that in Times Square. We didn't eat but the atmosphere was friendly and I would drop in again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nbaker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
185 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“typical pub”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Spouse had shepherd's pie, I had corned beef sandwich. Good thing I wasn't starving as food was only so-so. Beer on tap was fine, and fairly priced. Good thing we asked for a table away from the bar itself, as that area was very noisy.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank mbeth1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
340 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Solid Pub Drinks and Food”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Had a quick lunch here. Didn't think the prices were too high for the area (near Ground Zero and Wall Street). Tried a chef salad, which had generous portions of nice meat and cheese (didn't seem too processed). Also tried the French onion soup, which was good. Service was a bit slow, but it was cordial. Atmosphere and other patrons were pleasant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank westernfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Hara's Restaurant and Pub also viewed

 

Been to O'Hara's Restaurant and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing