We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short version”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bateaux New York

Bateaux New York
Book In Advance
More Info
$139.55*
and up
Bateaux New York Dinner Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Step aboard our European-inspired, all-glass vessel for an afternoon or evening of unparalleled splendor aboard a New York Harbor cruise. As the magnificent New York skyline spreads before you in all directions, you'll be pampered with gourmet cuisine, fine wines, live jazz and sophisticated dance music on this amazing dining cruise. Truly, an experience as inspiring as the city itself.
Monroe
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Short version”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

My complete version disappeared so this is what you get.

We would do it again.

Things that went wrong:

There is a metal grate at the outside of the deck. If there is a big wave, water will come through and you will get wet.

If you go outside and leave food or drinks, the busboy will take it.

They make mistakes with service like the wrong silverware or no spoon with the coffee.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    550
    127
    32
    33
    26
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Chester, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food. Great service. Stunning views.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Our dining experience with Bateaux has got be one of the best I've had in years. Given the fact that you have a combination of great service, great food and the New York skyline floating by, this unique dining experience is worth every penny. The boat is built identically as the one that cruises the Seine in Paris, enabling everyone to have spectacular views no matter where your table is located.

A friend and I went and enjoyed ourselves tremendously. He started off with the Lobster Tail and Risotto, I started off with the Mezze. Both dishes were excellent. Our main entrees consisted of the Atlantic Cod served over an Andouille Cassoulet and the Bouillabaisse. While the Cod was out of this world, very flavorful, each of the components complimented each other nicely, my Bouillabaisse fell somewhat short of what I was expecting. Stephen, the Restaurant Mgr was a delight in offering us another dish to try. He recommended the Short Rib and it was both tasty and succulent, served over a white truffle and basil potato puree. My friend enjoyed the Cod so much that he had a second dish. Sorbet ice cream is served before your main dish in order to cleanse the pallate, something many restaurants no longer do. Austin, our waiter was always on hand for all our needs and I cannot say enough of the great service he provided us with from beginning to end.

The ambience is, of course, the best that can be had on a dinner cruise. The great weather only added to the wonderful evening, not to mention the fireworks on the New Jersey side which was viewable from both inside and outside the glass-enclosed boat. A live band playing soothing music was a nice touch, although, there was no dancing. For the most part everyone, both tourists and locals alike, seemed to enjoy themselves. Will be back most definitely.

Helpful?
Thank RL24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newfoundland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“a night to remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had a wonderful night on this dinner cruise!! It was a very rainy wet night, but we decided to go anyway, I am so glad we did.
Waiter was amazing!! Food was good, music wonderful, views of the city and statue of Liberty were perfect!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank NaddieNewfoundland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
101 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Below Average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

If You ever dine in another cruise in Europe , So its better to avoid this .
From the moment you sit on the table you will notice the dirty dishes and glasses , low quality of service and for sure the below average dinner .

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elias H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruises42, Manager at Bateaux New York, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hello, we are sorry that your Bateaux cruise did not meet your expectations. We take customer feedback seriously and will use your comments to improve the experience for future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Treated like gold!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

I went on the Bateaux last weekend and it was simply amazing! This is easily the best dinner cruise in the city. The service was impeccable, the food was insane and the ambiance and sights along the way were well worth the cost of the tickets. The entire crew was so nice and professional I truely felt like royalty. We had someone in from Brazil and they had menus in Portuguese (Brazilian) whihc made the night even smoother for us so we didn;t have to explain everything on the menu like the rest of their trip. I will definitely be back the next time I am in New York City with out of town friends.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonBob1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bateaux New York also viewed

 

Been to Bateaux New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing