We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morning Star Restaurant

Morning Star Restaurant
Ranked #967 of 13,476 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 57th
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Great breakfast close to the Hudson Hotel near Central Park! This restaurant has everything you may want for breakfast and you can make your own combinations without being limited by a small menu. The price and service was great and the food came out really fast. I had scrambled eggs with ham, pancakes, coffee and juice for $10.50!

Helpful?
1 Thank Degustapr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    134
    39
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“For Breakfast near Central Park this was a great pick”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

The inside of the place is very small but hey its NYC. Orange Juice was expensive $4.5 a glass but wow it was fresh fresh fresh.... so tasty (would order again as a treat). The coffee was fresh and hot and always refilled by either waiter or busy person which is much appreciated. The food was fresh and my omelette was perfect and the fillings high quality Hardest part was getting the check at the end as the tables turned over so the waitress was running around. Would give 4.5 stars if they allowed half ratings. A must visit for people who want high quality food at reasonable prices in NYC......

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kmcmuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful hidden gem! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

In town for business and was staying at the a Hotel nearby and needed a quiet spot for dinner after a day of client meetings. I had eaten breakfast here before (it was excellent) and figured I would give the dinner a try. I have to say that I am amazed at how well the diner is transformed in to a cozy dinner spot! The lights are dimmed, fancy table clothes, candles, and a warm ambiance met me when I stepped through the door. The service was attentive and friendly. The food was good. I had the NY sirloin strip and it was cooked exactly right. The mashed potatoes and carrots were well executed, but plain. I like plain. The bread was special - almost a scone, with a hint of herb and blueberry. All in all, a very good dinner at an exceptionally reasonable price given the area.

Helpful?
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

It had been awhile since I visited NYC. I returned to an old breakfast place that was now terrible. Raced back to the hotel to find something good. This is a very local place which is always good news for me. If the locals come, it has got to be good, just my feeling. As soon as I entered, the place smelled like a lovely kitchen with only happy things on the grill. I always check out the tables and plates. So far so good. Luxury French Toast with thick crisp pieces of bacon, just what I ordered. After cleaning my plate I walk out with the idea I would be back. They serve food all day and thought the dinner would be comparable to breakfast. Dinner was dismal. Crushing disappointment. Only choose breakfast. Enjoy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RoadDirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A gem in West Midtown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

This lovely family run 57th Street/9th Avenue restaurant was an unexpected but delightful find. We had 5 dinners there in the 2 weeks we spent in Manhattan!! The staff were friendly, food unpretentious but delicious, good service, good wines & very decent prices. An excellent place for a meal at any time of the day.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aussies064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morning Star Restaurant also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Morning Star Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing