We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and wonderful food”
Review of Dervish - CLOSED

Dervish
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 6th and 7th Avenues
Transit: N & R trains to 49th Street, and B, D, F & Q trains to 47th/50th Street.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent service and wonderful food”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We selected this restaurant because of the vegetarian options on the menu and the good reviews, and were delighted with the quality of food and the friendliness of the staff in the restaurant. We had a mix of dishes from the set menu and the a la carte, and all were excellent. Even the wine was a reasonable price and of excellent quality. If you're looking for a restaurant with a menu to suit all tastes, friendly and fast service and a relaxing atmosphere, look no further. No question, this is a five star find

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    68
    19
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Being a vegetarian, finding somewhere to eat has been very difficult in the US. However, this had quite a range of food I could eat and it was all very tasty! The service was excellent, very friendly and attentive! All for a very reasonable price, I would recommend to anyone!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lydia_267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodmere
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Consistently one of the best pre-theatre meals over the last ten years”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My family and I have been eating at the Dervish on 47th street for at least ten years. Whether it's before a show on a weekend or just for dinner, the pre-theatre menu is outstanding. The Sultan's Delight, pieces of lamb on top of eggplant mashed potatoes is one of the best dishes I've ever had. They have great fish also. And a great cabbage and traditional doner kabob. The hummus and borekas are some of the best, I've eaten. This place is a must if you like Turkish food. Plus they make sure they get you out for your show. Food is GREAT. Service is GREAT

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“You'll love it-Consistently Good- Wonderful value”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

My business partner and I visit NY once a year for a show, usually stay near Times Square and always end up having dinner at Dervish at least once. Done this now for 5 years running. We receive a warm welcome each time, the mediterranean/turkish style food is always cooked with care, and service is unobtrusive but attentive. Either booths or tables, with nicely starched white napkins.They have a pre-theatre menu at $28 which is the most amazing value. Portions are sensible and just right, good choices even for the fixed price menu. Can heartily recommend this family owned restaurant. An oasis of calm away from crazy Times Square just a few minutes walk away. You'll love it.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dutchgirl255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A good pre-theater choice”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Dervish is an excellent pre- theater choice. There is a prix fixe that includes borek, stuffed vine leaves, baba ganoush and of course, hummus. The four of us each ordered a different appetizer and shared. A nice sampling. The hummus was ordinary but the others were as good as you would find in Turkey. There were three different lamb dishes on the under $29 prix fixe menu including a very good donner, an eggplant and pasta dish, and at least four other choices plus baklava (pistachio,) pudding (very typical Turkish) for dessert and coffee. Also, a good choice of wines. Service was excellent and as most restaurants in the Broadway, they are mindful of getting you out in time for your show. A good choice of wines, The long highly polished wooden bar and some tables led to a quieter back room with lovely paintings(some of whirling dervishes.) were very nicely done and felt very authentic.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JhoannaConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dervish also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing