We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite UWS bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Prohibition

Prohibition
Ranked #4,266 of 13,551 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Favorite UWS bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Prohibition is my go to, favorite bar on the upper west side. The atmosphere is great, the drinks are really good (though a little expensive- but worth it), and the music puts this place on another level. I've never heard a bang there I don't like nor have I ever had a less than great time at the bar.
Few other things: Back section has pool and more open area, the Ginger Whiskey Smash cocktail is out of control good, and the tuna tacos are delicious.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeremy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    15
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bayside, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to hang out and have GREAT live music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

I go there all the time now - the bands they choose are really amazing and worth seeing...

NO COVER
Cocktails are well made
Food is good
= a great night out!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank JenCurci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Great restaraunt! Service was really good and the people were so nice. Our meal was amazing, food quality was great. Would love to go again next time im back!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Becca_Taylor14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felpham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great bar, very friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Great food and not over-priced. Great vodka drinks! Large measures. We were served by Rachel - give here a pay rise!

We went for the live music as well as somewhere to eat and this venue fitted the bill.

Get there early, it gets very busy

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neal-Ball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Too crowded to move”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

I went here with a few friends to celebrate my birthday with post-dinner drinks. A live band was playing (who was excellent, by the way) so we expected it to be crowded but it was more so than anticipated. We found an area to stand & enjoy the music but were treated rudely by 1 of the staff members who said that we were blocked a reserved table. With no room to move I'm not sure where we were expected to go but we tried.

We got 1 drink each which was far too small considering the price (that's NYC for you).

I would love to give this bar a 2nd chance but it will NOT be on another weekend night.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaniC4590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prohibition also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Prohibition? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing