We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Empty cannolo”
Review of Caffe Palermo

Caffe Palermo
Ranked #1,198 of 16,328 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Little Italy
Description: Visit the Cannoli King®, today! For 45+ years, Baby John, owner of Caffé Palermo, has provided people in NYC and ALL OVER THE WORLD with the best Italian pastries and the BEST cannoli that money can buy! We have proudly been a must-stop shop in Little Italy for four decades and we are committed to being here for many, many more. In addition to the world famous cannoli, we serve lunch, dinner & other pastries. Including the standard beverage choices, Caffé Palermo offers a wide selection of specialty hot, iced & blended teas, gourmet coffee, cocktails, white and red wine, along with craft and domestic beer. Indoor and outdoor seating. Family friendly. Local delivery / catering + shipping available.
Reviewed May 14, 2019 via mobile

I ordered a mini cannolo and instead of having a very good cannolo in the middle of little italy, I had an half empty cannolo. I am Italian but my expectation were not high but having an empty shell and call it cannolo it s just unacceptable. The flavor was not bad though.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Cristiana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Owner at Caffe Palermo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good morning Christiana! The Cannoli King himself wants to be sure that you know that if there is ever a problem, to reach out to him or go to the counter so that we can take care of the concern. It is possible that the we weren't aware that the filling had run out and we are sorry that you had this experience. We take great pride in our bakery and always try to exceed our customers expectations. We don't want you to be unhappy and want you to enjoy the best Cannoli on planet earth! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (457)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 457 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2019 via mobile

They say they have the best cannolis in the world, and you know what, we believe them! We also tried the pistachio cheesecake and it was knock your socks off amazing. The service was great! The staff was friendly and we would definitely return.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank qvadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Caffe Palermo, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2019

THANK YOU for the amazing review & 5 stars!!! Glad you enjoyed your visit to Caffé Palermo, the cannolis and cheesecake! We look forward to seeing you again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2019 via mobile

Just loved the vibe in this place, caught our eye with the queue as we went for dinner and simply had to come back for desserts. We did take out and the guys behind the counter really made us feel we were having a true New York Italian experience. Best cannoli possibly but as a tourist experience in Little Italy a must from me.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank debsywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Owner at Caffe Palermo, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2019

So glad you came in and had a wonderful time! Thank you for the 5 stars and kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2019

MUST GO! I lived in Italy 11 years and travelled from Sicily to Northern Italy. These cannoli's & biscotti are AMAZING!!!! We went back 3 days in a row! Service was AWESOME! We sat on street & enjoyed "people watching".

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank garybJ1138CY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Owner at Caffe Palermo, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2019

Thank you Gary! We loved having you and so grateful for your kind words! Glad you enjoyed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2019

Went in for coffee and, you guessed it, a Cannoli and were thrilled with everything. A lot of hustle and bustle, so not the most relaxing place, but the staff was friendly and efficient so, combined with the great food, this is a must stop when in Little Italy.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank R-n-P_in_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Owner at Caffe Palermo, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2019

Thank you for the great review and 5 star rating! We hope you stop in again to see us ... and grab a cannoli! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Palermo also viewed

 

Been to Caffe Palermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing