We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value Asian”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ichiumi

Ichiumi
Ranked #1,139 of 13,551 Restaurants in New York City
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Midtown
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Value Asian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

If you crave Asian and don't wanna spend big bucks, Ichiumi is the place. Nothing fancy, OK, if not a little gloomy, decor, OK sushi and other Asian dishes. Good choice to go with your kids, especially if they are under the height limit :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bea045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    225
    91
    41
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
284 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Expensive buffet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We took our two teenage daughters here and not being big eaters, we definitely didn't get our money's worth. It was about $30 each - most expensive meal we had in NYC. Children of a certain height get a discount but our girls were a bit too tall for that.
The sushi was good but I found a lot of the other cooked food, which was mainly fish, very oily and fatty. We were hoping for Korean food but it was mostly Japanese which I normally like.
We weren't given an option of how much tip to pay (though they added 15%). Our waiter was attentive though he didn't return my credit card after paying. We didn't notice at the time. However, we returned next day just as the owner was arriving and retrieved it without any problem (I had the check with me).
Only go if you're really really hungry.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NettyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great value and taste”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

The selection is incredible for all Japanese food lovers... Huge variety of sushi, sashimi, rolls, yakitori, hot dishes and deserts. An extremely good value for the money and very centrally located.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
9533 Kirchberg SG
Level Contributor
214 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Staff attitude is terrible!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

I've been there many times during the past six years and it has always been the same: food is good, selection of food is huge (so be sure your stomach is empty when going there!!), cleanliness is in need of improvement and the STAFF IS ARROGANT, LAZY and IMPERTINENT!!

Last time the waitress asked for 20% tip!! -> for serving one drink in a unfriendly manner and removing a few plates after asking to do so? We refused to give tip and she started a discussion in a very rude way...

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BellaBavaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“went here for friends food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

dont eat anything the whole day they have unlimited food, you must love sea food if you r going here as its a korean place and also they had really good seafood i tried lots of new things . They has oysters as well. We paid 60 per person with drinks and tip , i was part of a large group of 12 people

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank water2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ichiumi also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Ichiumi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing