We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay if you are in the neighborhood”
Review of Cafe 82

Cafe 82
Ranked #2,725 of 13,630 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
New Jersey
Level Contributor
140 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Okay if you are in the neighborhood”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

A family member lives near this diner, so we gave it a try. The place is much smaller than most diners, the menu is more limited, and the portions are not quite as big. Still, it was reasonably priced, the food was tasty, and service was acceptable, though nothing special.

We are not planning to go back even though it is so close by. There are so many better choices in NYC.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simonizzze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    36
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Dependable Diner Food”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Too bad I accidentally deleted the picture of the huge bowl of spaghetti I got there recently. The photo was of what was left after I had eaten as much as I could and got the rest to go. We have taken out of town friends their for their super pancakes and waffles. I generally get the turkey club and many times we've just stopped in for a pastry. A slice of where real people eat. You'll notice how the wait staff and the customers all seem to know each other. Nice.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
102 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fresh fast food and great service”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Casual, diner type fare. Great place to stop for a quick reasonably priced bite. Pleasant staff as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tmmrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beringen, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great place”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We've visited NY for the first time and it s a relief to find a quit and not commercial great place , with great food, and perfect , very friendly service
You feel at home

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marcreynders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakmont, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
273 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great breakfast choice”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Cafe 82 is set in a quiet residential section of the Upper West Side of NYC. We happened on it by accident early on a Sunday morning while attending the NYC Triathlon. It was open early when other places in the neighborhood were not. My breakfast of eggs, bacon, hash browns and coffee was excellent and filling. Service was quick and efficient. My companions were equally happy with their order.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bobalcorn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 82 also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Cafe 82? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing