We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NYC is great for Italian food, it's just not in Little Italy”
Review of Il Piccolo Bufalo

Il Piccolo Bufalo
Ranked #650 of 13,689 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Little Italy
Cross street: Grand St.
Transit: B, D to Grand Street N, Q, R, J, Z, or 6 to Canal Street
Description: Il Piccolo Bufalo is a Trattoria with a modern spacious exposed-brick walled indoor dining room and inviting outdoor cafe with a comfortable relaxed atmosphere. It features a diverse menu of traditional neapolitan cuisine and pizzas prepared in an open brick oven. The dishes are both modern and authentic, featuring most of the delectable favorites such as stuffed artichoke, spaghetti & meatballs, sunday gravy...... and other recipes the grandparents of the owner brought with them from Naples when they settled on Mulberry Street after emigrating from Naples in the early 20th century.
Sudbury, MA
Level Contributor
121 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“NYC is great for Italian food, it's just not in Little Italy”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

I actually have had good Italian food in Little Italy, but at Da Gennaro. Piccolo Bufalo has a great name, but mundane food. The Pizza was flavorless. The pasta was acceptable. The waitress "accidentally" charged me for a glass of tap water and then included an 18% tip on the bill for 4 people. I called her out on it and she took it off (The service definitely wasn't worth 18% tip).

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    53
    30
    24
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A little salad, a little pizza, a little vino, what more could you ask for in life!”
Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

After walking up and down Mulberry street, dropped in here because of the friendly, but reserved gentleman outside and the promise of good brick oven pizza. We shared a very nice, large chopped salad, a pancetta and mushroom pizza and a carafe of house red. The pizza was great and the wine was fine. Good friendly service at a reasonable, for NYC, price. Nice place.

Helpful?
1 Thank mikethegoodlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great for a quick bite”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Ran into this little place for a quick bite on a walking tour of NYC. There are a ton of these little places in Little Italy. This place was cute, nice staff and the food was great. We got the antipasto place, fried calamari and focaccia. The focaccia was flat, crispy and yummy. Not like a typical fluffy focaccia, but delicious. There were four of us. It was the perfect amount of food. We each had a beer, small selection, but good. Brooklyn Lager, Stella, Peroni. We did see a group get a pizza, it looked great! Good little place in the middle of a lot of places!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmccart3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heck of a way to break a diet!”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Had an early lunch, so was expecting overly solicitous service; it wasn't the server was there when she needed to be, but did a good job of giving me my space.

But you want to know about the food; it was great. Had a risotto appetizer; nice flavor, but texture could have been a bit creamier. The risotto ball was paired with a very nice vodka sauce. I thought the risotto worked better with the Oil, basalmic & tomato purée that accompanied the (free) foccacia bread (really good). My main course was a really outstanding handmade gnocchi with a creamy gorgonzola sauce. Truly outstanding. Hit (for one) $22. Highly recommend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gaijin2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgerton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Everything was average (although service was a bit under par). The food was nothing special or interesting. We were more content with the cannolis we got off of a street vendor.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashen15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Piccolo Bufalo also viewed

 

Been to Il Piccolo Bufalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing