We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bill's”
Review of Bill's Townhouse

Bill's Townhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Bill's Townhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,881 of 13,830 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Madison Ave. & Park Ave.
Transit: BY SUBWAY: 5 Av/53 St (E, M) 51 St (6) Lexington Av/53 St (E, M)
Description: Bill's Townhouse is a new restaurant in a familiar space, opened in the Spring of 2016 by a team of folks who were longtime admirers of its inherent charms. Throughout a near-century tenure (and few incarnations), the three-story restaurant at 57 E 54th St has seen its fair share of history & reinvention. There is something special about Bill's that lends itself well to preservation, even in the cutthroat and unpredictable world of New York City dining trends and real estate. It's rare to find a restaurant that feels so comfortable in its own right and place - so written into the lore and landscape of a neighborhood that it seems it has always been at that address. (Or in simpler terms, it's hard to find a place that feels legitimately protected from a future as a Duane Reade or Chipotle.) Today, Bill's Townhouse serves Classic American Cuisine in the heart of Midtown and is kept up and running by a staff who strive to maintain an understated and unobtrusive sense of hospitality and service.
nyc
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Bill's”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Just renewed as Bill's formerly "bill's Gay nineties" was like an old fashioned speak easy!. Now it is kind of trendy

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    32
    14
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Restaurant”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is truly a neighborhood restaurant. Great atmosphere with music and lounge downstairs and dining upstairs. There were a few tables downstairs for those that didn't mind the lounge music. Very small and compact and a little noisy but it IS New York. The food and presentation and service was well worth the money. I will go again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tire40424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Singalong to the Piano Player”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Brilliant! Enjoy your meal as the Piano Player plays but be prepared to singalong at some point. Great bar/restaurant, lots of New Yorkers after work enjoying a cocktail and music hour. I look forward to my next trip to go back!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cdntraveller48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A tale of two Bills”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Bills is bi polar: a great piano bar, and a beautiful/ decent restaurant, that suffers from service issues.
downstairs is a warm, lively piano bar with a very talented pianist.
upstairs is a (very) loud dining room that serves seasonal food but offers the antithisis of comfort.
The menu offers few surprises,but sadly the service causes a head ache even more then the unsound proofed floors/ walls. Our waiter (juan) was just completely" in your face". no elegance..no restraint, and with no volume controls. He cracked jokes and then laughed at them, when all we wanted to do was enjoy the company of our fellow diners. Why is it so hard just to take an order with out doing vaudeville.The sommelier was also unprofessional. She didn't answer questions that were asked, but instead just pushed high priced wines with an ttitude.. Frankly it is a shame because the staff needs to make guest comfortable, and instead of feeling the love, i felt like it was a battle to get information and order a meal and wines.
anyway when the food shows up it is mostly good and in some cases great with a few exceptions. The steak was fatty,but the brussel sprouts were a hit. The ladies thought the kale salad had way too much cheese. The mushrooms were changed by the chef and not what was "billed" on the menu which is in my opinion is a form of fraud, but i guess a minor crime except when the real" bill" averaged $150/head.. You should get what you pay for, or be notified that a substitution is being made. The desserts were mixed with the choc cake yummy but decadent, and the fruits a virtual joke. Why not have great fruit presentation instead of a fruit bowl that resembled that which is served in a hospital. Ok i know the restaurant is new and the kitchen is still testing its sea legs, but i think that given the location/ space/ potential that both the kitchen and the staff needs to bring it up a notch, unless the goal is to just have people drink at and listen downstairs while the piano man pound the ivories.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank worldview123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere, great food, great service”
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Was there with a group of 7, a bit tight but they made it work. We ordered oysters that were fresh and awesome as well as some shrimp and crab. Also ordered a couple pasta dishes as appetizers, left me wanting more. Had a steak that was perfectly done medium and the sides were all really goood; fries, mushrooms... pretty much had every side on menu and all were good.

Place was really busy on a Thursday night but service was excellent.

Writing the review is making me hungry and I will for sure be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lsalazarjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bill's Townhouse also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Bill's Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing