We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neighborhood Coffee Shop”

New Amity Restaurant
Ranked #3,444 of 13,736 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Diner
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
New York
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Coffee Shop”
Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Stick to the basics. Like burgers or salads. Musaka and pasta could be better. Waiters very friendly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    37
    20
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great place to eat, lovely atmosphere, nice food, good service!”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stumbled over this restaurant after a visit to central park. Staff were very attentive. I had a chicken club sandwich with chips and it was the best club sandwich I have ever had. I would recommend this to any of my friends that were planning a visit and if we ever visit New York again, we would definitely make a point of going back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmandaS660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very busy, good food”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

The Amity (note: The canopy outside reads "The New Amity.") is a good place to stop before or after a visit to the Metropolitan Museum. It's a block from the museum, on Madison Ave. A Swiss cheese omelet for breakfast was hearty and delicious. The pancakes are good, too. It's also good for dessert and coffee after visiting the Met. If it's especially busy, the waiters will let you know not to sit too long. But I've been there when it wasn't so busy, and was allowed to linger over my coffee and talk as long as I wanted. The prices are reasonable, for New York, and the service is mostly friendly; sometimes a little gruff, but not too gruff.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Junebaby10057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Mediocre is generous”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

a typical diner menu with some Greek options. the gyro meat in my husband's gyro looked like a prefab slab. My spinach pie was mediocre but overheated or stale so tough to cut. service was poor. I had to ask for the check (it's not Europe or Latin America and a diner is usually quick on the draw) and had to wave the check and money to get our waiter's attention. too many other places to eat in New York to bother with this one.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank viageira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Cozy diner on the Upper East side.”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Our group enjoyed a wonderful lunch after visiting the Met Museum of Art. Wait staff was attentive and food was delicious.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank bronson777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Amity Restaurant also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to New Amity Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing