We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, as usual”
Review of Rock Center Cafe

Rock Center Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Rock Center Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #985 of 13,736 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: On 50th Street between 5th Ave & 6th Ave
Transit: B,D,F,V trains
Description: Rock Center Cafe is a midtown restaurant & bar in Rockefeller Center serving breakfast, lunch, dinner & brunch with holiday dining & events available.
Burlington, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic, as usual”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was a return trip to Rock Center Cafe, as we always enjoy it there. The location is always a huge draw, and the food is always great. With an allergy to deal with, it is always so helpful when the waitstaff and kitchen staff are willing to make necessary changes to help. Overall, a fantastic experience again!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chelsey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    406
    197
    63
    78
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very good for business breakfasts”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

This is among my favorite places for a small business breakfast. The array, quality and presentation of food are excellent. The views, especially when the rink is open for skating, can be mesmerizing. The service is excellent without being intrusive. And occasionally you can ee a newscast celebrity dining. I have not had lunch or dinner there but can attest to the high quality breakfast experience. And the morning French press coffee is divine.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marc F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“What a crock! Crock Center Cafe!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Where i come from a 'crock' is something that is old or broken or just plain bad. That's why I think that this restaurant should be re-named. It's a tourist trap, in the middle of the Rockefeller centre, so I suppose I shouldn't have been surprised. The salad - apalling, an iceburg lettuce cut like a wedge with fake bacon and a caesar sauce on top. The steak, even worse. Dry, stringy, tastless. Unfortunately I took the 3 course meal deal because it was "better value", the apple pie dessert looked like it had been dropped onto the plate from a height, the fruit was hard, chunky and the pastry was just awful. I had a nice beer though, but also paid for it, as this place ended up costing @$130 for two. Avoid.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ptk_from_dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Give this one a miss”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

All 6 of us eat here for dinner and food was sort of ok (nothing special) - 2 had starters, 2 had desserts and coffee with all 6 of us opting for filet mignon steaks ...
Steaks were bland and not very tasty - total bill came to a whopping $500 - certainly NOT worth the money.
Service was good and location and general atmosphere was also good ... But overall would NOT return

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank perky88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun on staycation”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

After traveling to Europe, I always wish for more cafes in NYC. Is this place touristy? Yes, but on a beautiful sunny afternoon, it was great to have cocktails with friends at such an iconic place! The service is slow, but that worked to our advantage as we had time to kill. Prices are what you'd expect. I suppose for people visiting from out of town, they might find it a bit pricey. Well,I'm a New Yorker and I like it here. Have been here a few times.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BklynGirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock Center Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Rock Center Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing