We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Atmosphere, Food So/So”

Jack Dempsey Restaurant
Ranked #4,776 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Neighborhood: East Village
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: East Village
Guilderland, New York
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent Atmosphere, Food So/So”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

After walking around NYC all day, we decided to stop at Jack Dempsey's (we had asked several people that day what were some good places to eat -a few suggested this place saying, "eat where the locals eat") and now I know why. The pub itself is nice but the food was about about as good as diner food. Service was slow as we were in a rush to get our check and get on our way. Not sure we will be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Briana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    21
    17
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
830 reviews
615 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Refuge after macys”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This place is always welcome after being dragged around macys. You can struggle to get a table and the beer selection can be limited, but overall a good experience. The service s however very slow.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UkSil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
892 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 676 helpful votes
“Decent Pub, Food Ok”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Its a pub and its food is a little higher than average bar food.

The location is separated into a bar section and a dining section in the back half. The bar is a standard long bar with TVs and wood trimmings and high stools. There are a couple of booths too.

The rear section is more upscale and has some decent foods. Its nice place to meet up and have some beers. Many hotels have a discount when showing the room keys here. Conveniently located to hotels.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ExplorerXYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best steak”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We visited after searching for two other restaurants up in the Flatiron district. What a find, real atmosphere and excellent beer. I had the steak on the special and wow, best steak for MANY A LONG YEAR, NEARLY AS GOOD AS MY LOCAL BUTCHER (Peter Maycock} in Belper UK!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hamgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Browerville, MN
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not outstanding”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We wanted a place close to our hotel. This place offered a 15% discount when we showed our hotel key (LaQuinta Manhattan). Reservations were not needed. Bar was noisy, but dining in the back was better for conversation. There weren't many patrons, so I feel the service could have been more attentive. Food was plentiful, but not outstanding. My pork chops were a bit tough, but the sauce was excellent. One member of the party had the Bison Burger and truly enjoyed it. He indicated it was the first time he'd ordered something medium and it actually was. My husband had the Shepherd's Pie and felt it had too much potato and little else. The decor was cozy. Am not sure I'd return...there are so many other restaurants in NYC; I'll give others a try before returning to this one. However, I'm tempted to return and order the Bison Burger!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandyBrowerville_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Dempsey Restaurant also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Jack Dempsey Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing