We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NYC trip”
Review of Maggie's Place

Maggie's Place
Reserve with OpenTable
Maggie's Place is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,673 of 13,754 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Irish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Home Style
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 5th Ave & Madison Ave
Transit: We are located near Grand Central Station.
Description: Midtowns oldest Family owned Irish Restaurant Est 1974.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“NYC trip”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

time 6.45pm after another day walking the streets of NYC stopped off here for a bite to eat & a drink with my family was served by Alison ..well done !!!all the food was hot very nice not over priced i would eat here again give it a try we liked it !

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jim r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    56
    10
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Fun after work place to stop in...”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I stopped in here to have a glass of wine and some snacks with a friend after work, it's kind of dark but I like that. The wings were great, the staff was very attentive and polite. It has that sports bar type feel to it, with TVs etc, hi top tables, and regular tables. I enjoyed my visit and it was not too noisy or too crowded.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WineMeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas Fort Worth
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Scotch with Bangers and Mash”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I would eat there again. Loved the Bangers and Mash. They had the Lagavulin 16 in their selection of Islay Scotch so I was happy.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JasonWright_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“I loved the food”
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

It was a very cold day in NYC and the food in this place was great. I had the shepherd's pie and it was very good. The service was also good and attentive. The place is clean and comfortable. I recommend this restaurant.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank PizziEnrique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Everything was average it rates as poor.”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Maggies Place claim to offer "Friendliness and Warmth"

The waitress barked her script at us at high speed, showing no interest in us whatsoever. The menu said "Ask us about our seasonal beers" .. I asked if they had any other beers, and was told "They're on there" in a tone that implied I was an idiot. (nice start!)

The shepherds pie was very nice, but the burger, requested 'medium' was served somewhere between raw and rare.

We paid up and left, saying "thanks" to another waitress, who ignored us completely and kept staring at her phone.

A reasonable watering hole, but don't expect the warm welcome you'd expect from a real Irish pub.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JeffJeffUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maggie's Place also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Maggie's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing