We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super location, exhibits need beefed up”

Museum of Arts and Design
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
New York City All Around Town Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Ranked #160 of 1,111 things to do in New York City
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Stairs / elevator
Attraction details
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Stairs / elevator
USA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Super location, exhibits need beefed up”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Went to the Art of Scent and Doris Duke Islamic Art collection.
Museum is in a great location. Building is very nice.
The Duke exhibit was really small. It needed far more in terms of exhibits.
The Art of Scent was very interesting.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gvlv77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    128
    37
    16
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Always Surprising”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

You never know what you'll find at MAD. I'm a real crafts fan, and go there a few times a year. The curators are so open-minded, the exhibits often feature truly innovative themes or materials. I don't necessarily love all the shows, but with 4 floors of galleries, you're sure to find something you'll enjoy if the interface or art, design and craft appeals to you.
Of the current shows, I loved the contemporary glass exhibit. I admired the very unusual "The Art of Scent," which is the first major museum exhibit of "olfactory art." It's very clever, allowing viewers to inhale at each display and learn the history of how that particular perfume scent was created. A lot of visitors seemed to be inhaling and enjoying, but I soon realized it wasn't really my kind of show.
On the 3rd floor stair landing, I was dazzled by the collection of 50 large goblets, most of them very rare, unique and beautiful. If you're aesthetically adventurous and curious, MAD is open late on Thursday and Friday nights, and I'm always glad I stopped in.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank carly5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

On the good side: -
Great building
Great location
Great store
However:-
We were all very disappointed with the exhibitions Nothing that I think good enough to be in this museum.

So ... I would say if you are in NY for a limited time check out the exhibitions before you go

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank carolina f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

several small floors with different exhibitions on each floor.. Lovely exhibition on islamic art - beautiful.
Cafe on top floor but very crowded (!!) - good place to meet someone for lunch though but not a good place if you are by yourself!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mrs-HJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

MAD, the Museum of Arts and Design, is a pearl which is easy to get to on Columbus Circle at 59th and 7th Avenue. Exhibitions you haven't seen before are found here: the history of fragrances (for you to smell), unique jewelry and the use of space, to name a few. And the gift shop is No. 1 among museum shops. Look for religious icons as you meander through.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Arts and Design also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Arts and Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing