We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude service”
Review of Madison Bistro

Madison Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Madison Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,108 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $45
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 37th Street
Transit: 4,5,6 to Grand Central
Description: Madison Bistro is a French Bistro with a modern twist that is based on a mix of Godard's family recipes and traditional French recipes. Diners can enjoy the wonderful cuisine in the restaurant's dining hall that has a Parisian ambiance with a touch of classic French influence, all the while retaining its casual and classy atmosphere.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rude service”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Food was adequate, but menu selections limited. For example, tuna Niçoise salad was served with salmon because "they didn't have tuna in that day." Salmon portion was very small. Service was slow. When it came time to settle the check, they wouldn't do separate checks "because it was a hassle." This message was delivered curtly even though we were asking for only two checks. Won't go back. EVER.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ohtravelerio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    82
    34
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Small causal french bistro serving decent food without pretention.”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Small causal french bistro serving decent food without pretention.
We were the second table on Father's day. Prix fix menu was reasonable priced and had good selections. Portion size was adequate and fair to good food.
One surprise was when ordering the baked chicken as the principle plate, we were told the only other table had the last one. This was 6 PM on Father's day and to only have one baked chicken, the chef must have been sleeping on the job.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charlie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“So good we ate there every night”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

When you taste something that make you think all other food is second rate then that is how we felt at Madison Bistro. On my second visit to NYC, we found this gem of a bistro and we were so impressed we offered to take the chef home just to cook for us but no such luck!!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Backhome1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claude G, Owner at Madison Bistro, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time to post on our page,

I was a pleasure serving you at Madison Bistro.

A bientot,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I used to LOVE this place!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This WAS my favorite French restaurant in NYC for many years. Now, I hate the prix fixe menu. I also don't enjoy having the wait staff stare at me while I eat. The food was good but the service was not great! I felt like I was being treated like a tourist!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unexpected charming find on Madison Avenue”
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

A delightful place: excellent food, attentive service, charming ambience.

The pear crumble is wonderful!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claude G, Owner at Madison Bistro, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time to post on our page,

I was a pleasure serving you at Madison Bistro.

A bientot,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madison Bistro also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Madison Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing