We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Madison Bistro is an excellent neighborhood restaurant.”
Review of Madison Bistro

Madison Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Madison Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,108 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $45
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 37th Street
Transit: 4,5,6 to Grand Central
Description: Madison Bistro is a French Bistro with a modern twist that is based on a mix of Godard's family recipes and traditional French recipes. Diners can enjoy the wonderful cuisine in the restaurant's dining hall that has a Parisian ambiance with a touch of classic French influence, all the while retaining its casual and classy atmosphere.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Madison Bistro is an excellent neighborhood restaurant.”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We always try to return to Madison Bistro when in New York. We especially like the bar menu. The charcuterie and fromage board is excellent and a great value. The service is always very good. The dinner menu is also very good. Most patrons seem to be retuning- a good reccomendation in itself.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JackA5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    82
    34
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pissy little faux french brat maitre d'”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Very rude wanna-be french maitre d' who was condescending from the moment we walked in. Their wine list is poorly laid out - it listed Moulin a vent as 2007/2008. One would assume they had both 2007 and 2008 as a wine list must have a vintage attached to the wine. According to the know-it-all maitre d', this was not the case. It was one or the other: 2007 or 2008. They only had one. He acted as though it was normal to list several vintages although they only had one. The condescension continued throughout the meal. When we told him that we were both ordering the prix fixe and that we planned to share all the dishes, he insisted that we tell him who was ordering which dish for "placement" purposes. We had already told him we were sharing. When I pointed that out for the second time, he said, "Fine. It doesn't matter." Half of the dishes were good, some were mediocre. The tarte flambe was good. The bread was mediocre. The seafood overcooked. We had a Bloomspot that gave us $30 off the $142 bill. The maitre d' said, "You didn't tell us about this." I said, "I did. When I called. That's what the Bloomspot instructed to do." He then took it, and said, "Next time, give it to use when you walk in." What - so I could get even worse service? When I told him I was giving him a tip commensurate with his service, he became enraged. He followed outside the restaurant and asked us why. I explained to him how he was condescending to us the entire meal. He threw up his hands, exasperated, and said, "Fine!" As we crossed the street, he screamed, "And you used a Bloomspot!" Yeah, buddy. For $30. That's the cost of a digestivo, which a lot of good French restaurants give you for free. You get better service from Subway than from this fake Frenchie.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Soizic84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Well priced and good and friendly service. Very convienient to the Madison Hotel”
Reviewed March 2, 2012

No dislikes and the food was great. Friendly service and prices very compeditive with other resteraunts

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank iain s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, NY
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good food, terrific location”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

This French restaurant, located near the Morgan Library and Museum and easily reached by subway, bus and a pleasant walk from Grand Central is a good alternative to the smaller take out and quick lunch places in the area. The food is fresh, the service is very good and the price is not gulp producing. The three course price fixed lunch is a deal.
The menu offers enough choices to make you plan your next visit. Standards like mussels, charcuterie and snails are available as is a very interesting mac and cheese. Some of the appetizers are fairly substantial and could stand for a light lunch. The dessert menu is maddening....makes you want a sampler plate.
The ambiance is intimate with a lower noise level than most. Overall, a satisfying experience.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NellieNyack_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Authentic French food in an elegantly casual atmosphere”
Reviewed January 10, 2012

I had the salad appetizer, beef short ribs with the Grand Marnier Souffle and they were absolutely fantastic! Just like my grandmother used to make. Great French food without the oh la la!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank quedeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madison Bistro also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Madison Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing